nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

time keeps on tickin..tickin...

I read something today...

"Time's fickle. When you need it, there's too little of it. Then you wake up at three o'clock in the morning, and there's too much of it. It's usually better to take than anticipate it."

And that made complete and total sense to me.

***

While giving Grams her breathing treatment today, I realized that it's been almost a year and a half now that I've been looking out for her. Amazing how the time can fly and I don't even notice.

And I think in some ways, with this situation, that's a good thing. It could be marked along the way with negative happenings. No thanks!

***

Since time seems to be the theme to this particular entry, let's just roll with it, shall we? I made time last night, after the boys were in bed, to turn off the telly and light some candles and put soft music on and just..be. I took the time to sort through the things wobbling round inside my head, and took the time OUT that I needed. My patience was shot, so this was a good and much-needed thing.

Today, I took time to do up my Gram's hair, so that she felt less self-conscious about being in her housecoat. Because of her broken hip, broken collarbone and myriad body pains, she doesn't get what's considered "dressed" anymore. We've all gotten together and bought her snap-front dresses, and a dressing gown that's made of the softest material known to man. It helps my very modest Grams in untold ways. And so this morning we played beauty shop--she got her nails done and her hair..and she felt pretty again.

***

I hope everyone is having a lovely day. Hope it's warming wherever you are, hope it's sunny with blue skies in spite of frigid temps. Happy Tuesday.

N.

12:35 p.m. - 2004-01-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged