nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm, in turn, a hairdresser, a manicurist, and a juggler.

I found myself stripping old nail polish off of my Gram's fingernails this afternoon and muttered, mainly to myself, "The closest thing I have to a daughter is my grandmother". She thought that was hilarious and laughed herself into a coughing fit. I'd jokingly said to her just a few minutes earlier that it was time to play Beauty Shop, that I was going to do her nails and her hair. And that's what I did. Her nails are polished a nice coral color now, which she said reminded her of Spring. Her hair, while brushed, was a lost cause. As soon as she lays back down, it'll be smashed to smithereens again. She's due for the haircurler thing.

My muttered comment sticks in my brain now, because in strange ways, it's almost how it feels. When I'm caring for my Grams, it's as I cared for my sons when they were babies. I'm deriving joy in untold ways from my daily interactions with Grams and as hard as it can be some days, I know that I'll never regret this experience. Still, at the age of almost 29, I'm being educated.

***

I've been doing some scrambling today, trying to set up an officer to speak to our Scout pack on Monday evening. I had left a message with the Capt. at work and he never bothered to call me back. SO. I called him again today and finally got it all arranged. Now I just need to get the Den leader to call me back so I can tell the officer what, exactly, he's supposed to speak about. Juggler--my new profession. Juggling people, I'm not so adept at.

Almost the weekend. I have no real plans other than to spend time with my guys and work some. I'd like to go through their rooms at some point because their toyboxes have hit overflow. Whether or not that's accomplished is another story.

Okay, I need to skadoodle and get ready for work. Have a great Thursday.

N.

12:48 p.m. - 2004-01-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged