nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Big Poppa and my boy-o

Busy evening at work culminating in a big furry puddytat coming home with me.

Why, you wonder, would that happen?

A big, burly college student found this furry tub of feline and couldn't stomach just letting it hang outside in sub-degree weather with tons of snow coming down, so he tucked it into his little beater mobile and brought him to us.

And what should greet my eyes but an enormous male tiger cat, identical to my Freya in coloring. He's huge, still has all his claws and is definately an alpha male. I left work early and brought him home with me, after getting in contact with a shelter. Unfortunately, the girl who runs it has been really sick and asked me to keep him over night.

So he's been given his own little blanket, a bowl of water and food and is hanging out in a heated room in my basement. Until tomorrow.

Freya and Wraith are prowling the house and have sniffed every inch of the clothes I was wearing when I brough Big Poppa home. You'd think from their little insulted-kitty faces that I'd lain in sin with him, for goodness sake!

***

Thank you for the nice thoughts in my gb and via messenger. I appreciate them immensely, more than any of you know.

***

Trevor's teacher called today and we talked for quite some time. Apparently, she think Trevor's behaviors are getting in the way of his education. She feels he would benefit from medication. She has talked to Trev's kindergarten teacher who told her that he was more calm when he was on his Zoloft. I'm really torn on this issue. I want my son's education to proceed, I want to do everything I can to make sure he's not defeating himself. And if a low dosage of meds helps him...I don't, however, want them to think they can stick my kiddo on drugs and let him fall through some crack somewhere. I've come to a compromise with the school at this point. I told them I'd consult Trev's doctor, and discuss the possibility of meds. They, in turn, have to provide a tutor for the areas they have concerns in. He seems to be zooming ahead with his mathematics (typical for some kids with PDD and autism) but isn't speeding along quite as well as they'd like him to in the other departments.

At any rate, I just want him to be okay. I want him to have a successful school experience, to be able to socialize without having these behaviors impact his relationships...

I love my boy. Bottom line.

***

I'm tired now, and while I had other things I wanted to comment on, they will hold until tomorrow.

Sweet dreams and Happy weekend!

N.

11:51 p.m. - 2004-01-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged