nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which N. does the happy dance

Cupid was very nice to me.

To give this Hallmarky holiday just a nod, I'll just say that my darling sons gave me the most adorable valentine cards in the entire world. These were followed up by the sweetest morning hugs a mom could ask for. And thankful I am for the chocolate as well.

We went to the dollar theater this afternoon and saw The Haunted Mansion..which they enjoyed and I tolerated.

I spent my morning at my Gramps apartment, helping three of my aunts move his belongings across the hall. Out of our extrememly large family, we were the only ones there. Gramps didn't really have that much and they'd already gone through what remained of Grams stuff there. By the time I needed to scoot, we'd managed to move the big pieces and had mainly the miscellaneous belongings one accumulates over long periods of time.

Wanna know how they rewarded my efforts? I'm so happy. Incredibly happy. Right up there with orgasmically happy. And some might understand this and others will just laugh and shake their heads..my aunts gave me all of my Grams old books and part of her frog collection. I was also given the thumbs up to start organizing their photographs.

When I was young, and my dad was supposed to have summer visitation with me, he'd pick me up and then dump me off on my grandparents. They never made me feel unwelcome, never acted surprised, never gave a hint that they had their own lives and I might be an imposition. One of my fondest childhood--heck, memories PERIOD was of curling up in my grandfather's huge overstuffed chair by the fireplace with a lapful of books I'd thieved from the many, many shelves in the house. I spent alot of time lost in the stories that my grandparents had tucked into their bookcases, so to be able to now have these same pieces in my own home brought me as close to tears as one person can get without actually shedding them. Some of these books have my grandmother's name written in them, in her hand, both as a small girl and as an adult. There are old books where my father and his siblings had scribbled notes in the margins and even older books that were disintegrating in my grasp. Some of these books have printing dates in the early 1900's and the oldest was printed in 1853. And they are priceless to me in their sentimental value.

As for the frogs, my Grams has collected frogs (of all things) for as long as I can remember. I took the ugliest. So darn ugly but beautiful as well.

You'll notice I'm not at work. I'm pretty happy about that. Instead, I'm in my p.j.'s sloughing around with my guys and feeling not one bit bad about that. I'll make up the money later this week.

All in all, a lovely day.

Happy Valentine's Day. Remember to show the ones you love how very much you love them on all days, not just today. And make today extra special.

N.

8:23 p.m. - 2004-02-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged