nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

life and it's changes.

Tuesdayyyyyy afternooooon...

I'm hearing The Moody Blues in my head today. Specifically, that song.

It's warmer today than it was yesterday and for that I'm grateful. I spent most of my morning doing Grams hair and nails. She insisted on having her "pocketbook" so that she could put on her lipstick. One thing forever imprinted in my Grams memories is that she wouldn't leave the house without her lipstick on. And her choices in words amuses me sometimes. A couch is a davenport, purse is pocketbook, using the bathroom is using the pot..and she has always said I'm a peach.

***

My bio-dad is warped and not in a good way. He's always been a bit off, but it's gotten worse in recent years. Some time ago, he had a tumor removed from his brain and I think that might have alot to do with it. Before his tumor, he was a chimney sweep. Yep, think Mary Poppins' friend Bert. That was my Pop. He knew more about chimneys and the assorted ailments they can have than any person I've ever known. And then he fell off a roof, which led to a scan which found his tumor. And a sweep he was no longer. He still maintains his dues (somehow) to some official chimney sweep organization and apparently has raised the money to go to some convention in North Carolina that started today. He can't get on a roof ever again and will never clean another chimney but he's keeping up his membership. The family is a little worried as the last time he went to one of these things, he funded it buy "borrowing" (his word) a check that had been made out to my Gramps (same name) and forging his signature. He also changed the amount by about five hundred dollars. So yes..he's a little off. God forbid the days he's unable to take care of himself because I don't think he'll let me.

***

I hope I never take for granted the complexities of relationships. Just when you think you have something all figured out, Life'll throw you for a loop. And loving someone, child or adult, isn't ever as simple as we think it should be. Take, for example, my relationships with my sons. I have a different dynamic with each one, based more on personality than on birth order. And I know as time passes that this will change, become more complicated and perhaps become impossible at times. And I relish that thought as much as I relish watching day by day the growth they each go through. I'm enjoying watching my sons fall headlong into boyhood. They've left their baby years long behind and before long will begin the trek to adolescence. Right now they're working on defining their independence, their personalities, strengths and weaknesses. Grateful I am to be part of it.

Happy Tuesday! Remember the issues you have with your family don't have to drive you apart.

N.

12:35 p.m. - 2004-02-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged