nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mudboy, my early birthday gift and some empathy.

Oh my my my.

I love having sons. Truly I do.

Trevor came home from school this afternoon covered, head to toe, in mud. Completely dripping with mud. Looking like a pretzel dunked in chocolate-mud.

He was on the playground over recess and someone had kicked a soccer ball into a marshy area. Trevor being the helpful little guy that he is went tromping over to get it. In the process my gallant son sank ankle deep in a boggy mudhole and then planted himself face first in the mud as well. Apparently, he also lost his shoe for a short time in this mudbath of tar pit proportions. The school hosed him off as best they could and as it was very close to the end of the day, opted to let him come home that way.

As I type this, I'm listening to the clunk of his shoes flopping around with his jacket inside the dryer. It's got a strange sort of rhythm to it.

I let Ry choose dinner tonight and his choice? Eggs in a hole. Yep, we had breakfast for dinner. Could have been worse, I suppose. He's a picky eater and seems to stick to his own version of the four food groups.

March schedule came out and I had to do the happy dance. She managed to give me my birthday off! At the very minimum, I will not be spending my birthday (March 13th) in that place---what a wonderful gift that is! She's also managed to finagle me back on my evenings with FavoriteCoworker--no AnalWoman (unless I'm called in) for an entire month!!!!

Yes. It's been a funny peach of a day.

There are those who're not having such a great day--mr-knowitall and porktornado and widower. Read their entries for today...sometimes knowing there are people out there who've been there means more than we think.

Happy Monday evening.

N.

9:44 p.m. - 2004-02-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged