nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Saturday night's alrite for fighting..

Finally found a layout, designed by someone else, that I like.

It'll stick for awhile, I think, until I create another of my own. Hope it passes muster.

Work was tolerable and even busy in spurts, always a good thing.

Saturday was fun and not so fun, all in the same breath. I had an immensely enjoyable time with FavoriteCoworker. My cousin picked the boys up early and F.C. showed up minutes later and we were off. There's a little bookstore in the town I used to live in that takes your used books and gives you store credit for them. Seeing as how F.C. and I had been sending books back and forth to each other all winter long, we'd accumulated an immense selection and had been talking about taking them into this bookstore. And that's what we did. We spent a couple hours looking through all the books there, looking for our preferred authors and then some, and then we went to dinner. The place we chose was crowded, being a Saturday evening so we waited at the bar. I was reminded that drinking on an empty stomach makes me tipsy really quickly. The food, once we got our table, was really very good. It was a casual kind of place, but still more upscale than fast food or buffet-style places. Good food, good ambiance, good company. Overall, a good time.

Then we went to pick up the boys. Understand that my cousin had picked my sons up at 3:30. I picked them up from her at 7:30. When I got there, her first comment was that she'd been a bad cousin/auntie. She'd not fed the boys!! Her excuse was that being pregnant, just looking at the food had upset her stomach and since they hadn't complained about being hungry, she thought they were pretty much okay!! Seven hours she had them and no supper. They had lunch at 1ish!

I didn't say a word to her, just got the boys ready to go and out we went. Got them in the car and they reported that Cousin had at one point popped in a movie (Daddy Daycare) and fallen asleep, leaving my almost 7 and almost 8 year old boys in charge of her almost 3 year old daughter!!

My sons will not be babysat by her again. I rarely go out without them and this incident solidified that. In the past she's been just fine with them. I understand she's pregnant, even went so far as to tell her that if it was too much, I understood, that it was perfectly understandable if she's been feeling under the weather. She said she was fine and it would be okay, as she hadn't seen them in a while.

I think that's how Tater gets her needs met, by being so demanding she can't be ignored. My sons aren't like that.

I think it just bothered me because I trusted her with the two most precious things in the world to me and she broke that trust. Falling asleep and leaving them in charge of your rambunctious kid doesn't fall under the title of caretaking. Anything could have happened!

After leaving Cousin's house, we hit Mickey D's for kiddo meals and then home.

All's well that ends well, right?

We had conferences tonight but I need to get moving to Scouts so I'll add another entry later tonight.

Happy Monday!

N.

5:54 p.m. - 2004-03-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged