nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which Ms. N. attempts to fly a kite and visits with both brothers at once!

I hate spyware. Really, really, really hate it. I'm not sure what site I keep hitting that's giving me this crap but it's driving me batty. Running Spybot is becoming an every other day thing.

Today was an incredibly gorgeous day. Sunny with some wind, so we decided to try and get Trev's 5 ft truck-shaped kite into the air. Lemme tell you, it wasn't an easy task. For whatever reason, we had a devil of a time with it. Just as we'd get it up the wind would die down. This after I climbed the hill in my backyard to invade Mr. Farmer's field, the only remotely open space to attempt kiteflying around here. I not only ended up muddy and scratched up (smart lady that I am, I wore sandals and capris *sigh*) but also a little frustrated because had this been a normal, flat-as-a-stingray kite I'd have had no problem. That's what I get for trying to navigate a 3 dimensional kite! The boys got a good laugh out of watching me though, so I suppose it was all worth the effort.

It's still pretty warm and I'm sitting here with my bedroom windows open, enjoying the occasional breeze that's blowing.

My brothers stopped today. I was surprised, to say the least. Brother B. was living in Massillon with his gf, working two jobs and being a good boy (or so I thought). Apparently they broke up last week due to gf finding out Brother B. had cheated on her (via condom in the trashcan) and he's now residing in town with Brother K. He's enjoying the comfort of the floor there, and has begun working for the same construction company older Brother K. works for. After a proper tongue lashing about infidelity and my disappointment in him, my duty as older sister/person who raised him, we enjoyed a nice visit. It's been a bit since I'd really seen him. He's gotten so tall and so handsome..baby brother he isn't anymore.

Brother K. seems to be holding steady, still maintaining his sobriety and seeing as how I didn't have to visit him in a mental institution or hear about an attempted suicide while I was working, I'd have to say that he's keeping his head above water. My sons wrestled a bit with my younger brother, as they've always done and he marveled over the changes in them. K. held back a bit, as he's been wont to do (he's the oldest--it's his role to be a little aloof) but was affectionate with them as well.

I was moved by that. We come from a family that is well-versed in it's dysfunction, a family not used to showing affection in any way, let alone appropriate ones. And to see my brothers interacting on such a ..normal level with my sons made me very happy.

Life still manages to surprise me.

Happy Sunday evening.

N.

8:40 p.m. - 2004-03-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged