nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Germs, BAH!

How is it possible that one can feel peachy keen and just a few short hours later, be completely overcome with a cold? Do germs and bacteria really act that quickly and which such stealth?

Ready for the gory details?

I went to bed last night fine. Great. In basic wonderful health.

I woke up this morning feeling like I'd drowned in a pool of snot. Really. It's awful. My nose began running the minute I sat up in bed, and hasn't stopped since. In fact, it's gotten worse. I've been connected at the wrist with a box of Kleenex all morning. My throat is raw and my nose rivals Rudolph's right about now. And I see no end in sight. I've tried meds but I'm thinking I took the wrong one. I've got one more in line and then I'll just suffer till it's Nyquil night-night or risk o.d.ing on the stuff.

Ryan, lucky cuss, only has the cough. His nose has done it's duty (passed said cold onto the Momfigure) and is peachy again. Joy and happiness.

I took my cold germs and accumulated children (sis is here again) to return some things I'd received from my aunt (they didn't fit and I'd rather take the money and have my hair done). The ladies at the shop kept grimacing with every sneeze and I could almost see them breaking out the decontamination suits! It was almost humorous.

I'm planning on having my hair cut and highlighted this week. I'm so looking forward to it...that is, if I can get my nose to stop running long enough to have it done! It might not be so great to be all done up and have a sneezing fit all over the stylist. I'm ready to get rid of the winter blah.

The boys need haircuts too, and that will probably happen at a different time than mine. They tend to get antsy if sitting for too long.

The latter part of this week is going to be pretty busy here, what with work and egg-coloring, and miscellaneous other Easter preparations. I really need to feel semi-normal by Saturday.

There are ladybeetles everywhere right now, those Japanese biting ones. They seem to have decided my kitchen window is a happening place and are congregating there in droves. I hope they enjoy it when I suck them up in my sweeper!

At any rate, I have a hot date with the pharmacist at CVS to find something to dry me up and then I have to take my sister to her father. Have a wonderful Tuesday afternoon.

N.

Addendum: That which dries one up also stuffs one up. I learned this today, through trial and error. Nyquil and I are going to bed now. Sweet medicated dreams.

1:14 p.m. - 2004-04-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged