nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A lovely day

What a fun day it's been! My busy day turned into a pleasant one. On top of the rest of the happenings of the day, I was haunted by mental images circus tents--bound to make a day quirky!

Taxes turned out well, although the preparer about had me keeling over. He'd forgotten to add something to the state tax form and had me owing something like two hundred dollars to Ohio. Thankfully, it was a mistake and I'm owed money instead. That's lovely.

Then it was off to Trevor's psych. appointment and that turned out well too. This doc, who happens to have the same last name as my children, made a wonderful impression on me. He interacted with Trevor right off the bat, listened intently and asked all the right questions. I came out of that office with a happy kiddo and a feeling of comfort--not the same feeling I'd gone in with. I was pretty nervous, more for Trev than anything and it was nice to have that assuaged. This doctor made comment that perhaps it's not Trevor that needs fixed, especially, perhaps it's the teacher. I like Trevor's teacher but I'd been wondering myself about the compatibility there. At any rate, he's refraining from putting Trevor on meds until he's had plenty of time to ascertain whether he truly needs them or not and feels, as did the Akron Childrens doc, that Trevor acting out is better than the shutting down he used to do. His opinion is that internalizing is the worse case scenario and that he's actually making steps to the positive--now it's just a matter of teaching him appropriate responses.

Overall a positive experience.

After the doctor's appt., we went to Pizza Hut and had a blast. Ryan had the giggles and his giggle makes me giggle. It's one of those contagious things, a child's laugh.

I've tucked them into bed and I can still hear them in there, rustling and wrestling and quietly laughing to themselves. I'll have to nip that in the bud soon or they'll never get to sleep.

Trevor has managed, somehow, to pick up poison ivy already! I've got him all slathered up in cream at this point. He's even got it in his arm pit!! Cracks me up.

Happy Wednesday.

N.

8:25 p.m. - 2004-04-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged