nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My toe, my son, my work

Remember my comments about my lack of coordination?

I managed, while getting up in the middle of the night, to stab myself in the toe with a wire coat hanger.

I thought I'd heard Ry and instead of taking a few seconds to become coherent, I rolled out of bed and stumbled across the floor and straight into the hanger. Instant pain. Big toe protested. And I began the Mommy Dearest rant..."No wire hangers EVER!!"..it hurt that bad. I sat on the edge of my bed in the dark trying to feel for blood because my eyes weren't quite ready for the light, but it hurt too much to even touch. I hobbled into Ry's room and found him sound asleep. Not a peep. Must have been my overactive mommy imagination. I limped back to my room, flipped on the light, and found my big toe bleeding, with a nice cylindrical gash going up and under my nail. I think I should buy stock options in the Band-aid company.

I'm so graceful. How I've gotten to 29 years of age with basically everything intact and unbroken, I don't know. Thankfully, it's better today.

Grams had me a little worried this morning. She woke up moaning, said her belly hurt and when I felt her forehead, she was warm. When I took her temp the thermometer read 100 degrees. After she was up for a few minutes, she settled and denied any belly pain. Her fever went down with Tylenol and she seemed more with it. I just need to remember to call later and check in.

***

Ryan went to school today as it had been over 24 hrs since he was last ill. He was much improved this morning, even ornery. We were lying on my bed last night, reading his homework story and he had the giggles. The story was part of it but most of it was just him. He'd read part of the story and you could see in his face that he was picturing it. Then he'd burst into peals of laughter. Infectious little giggler. He had tears running down my face from laughing with him.

I'll miss the days of silliness. I hope some grain of that is able to be carried into their teen years and adulthood.

***

The school just called. Trevor hauled off and smacked another boy in the back, leaving a welt in the middle of his back. What I'm going to do with that boy...

Directly after that, work called. FavoriteCoworker is still ill, and has called off so they want me to come in from 3-11pm. I've agreed to cover about half the shift.

Joy and happiness.

Happy Monday.

N.

12:47 p.m. - 2004-04-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged