nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

shopping alone, the tornado man, and hooky

I had a novel experience today.

I was able to go grocery shopping without children. As pathetic as that sounds, it was oh so enjoyable. It's been a considerable time since I was able to actually do that without small beings along, asking for this and that and those. I know that realistically it would be infinitely less fun if I were able to do it all the time. I'm sure grocery shopping alone probably gets old after awhile, no one to give you any input or ideas, but for me, today was wondrous. I'd almost forgotten what it was like to take my time. And I'm incredibly glad for it.

It's a blustery day here but the rain has let up for the most part. I'm glad for that as well, since my basement has become a swamp. It's getting old having to put my shoes on just to go down and switch laundry from washer to dryer. Really--it's that bad. And the dehumidifier seems to be laughing and pulling back it's little plastic feet.

My lawn is showing the recent rains as well. It's a lush and gorgeous green, and everything looks so alive...but even I must admit that it's needing a good mow. I've been putting it off because I need to get the mower blades sharpened..nothing like lying in the grass and noticing that each and every blade is shredded instead of nicely clipped.

This gentleman was narrowly missed by a tornado. Go and tell him that you're glad he wasn't sucked up like a piece of dust in a Hoover.

And now I'm off to enjoy playing hooky while accomplishing much.

Happy Thursday, all.

N.

2:49 p.m. - 2004-04-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged