nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

my biker boys

I dug out the boys bikes on Thursday, in order to get them cleaned up and ready for riding.

Neither boy has mastered bike riding without training wheels and part of me wonders if I should just take the stinking things off and let 'em fly.

When we got the bikes, my uncle purposely put the training wheels on a little unbalanced, he said, in order to help them learn to balance without the wheels. It throws Trev into a tizzy every time. He's so incredibly cautious out there, teetering along at a snail's pace. I allowed them to ride the bikes up and down the street, had moved the car into the front yard so that they could pull into the drive unencumbered. Ryan is hell on wheels--literally! That boy pedaled his little bike to the top of the hill, turned it around and on those wobbly training wheels, came flying back down the hill, giggling like a madman! He zoomed down the incline, made to turn into the drive and when he realized it was too sharp a turn, ran fullspeed into the yard and catapulted from the bike when he hit the brakes. My heart blew up. He just stood up and brushed off his hands, all while laughing and verbally planning how to do it all over again.

God love him.

Trevor finally lost a little of his caution towards the end of our time out there, getting to the top of the hill and riding his brakes all the way back down. He also drug his sneakers, and anytime he lost his balance, hopped right off the bike! Ryan kept up his daredevil antics but managed to escape unscathed. He asked me to take off his trainers--said it'd be more fun to crash.

*sigh*

Trevor ended up scrapping with another boy at school on Friday. Apparently the other boy had grabbed Trev by the shirt and choked him so Trev popped him one. Someone tell me how to handle THAT one!

***

My lilacs have finally begun to bloom and I'm loving the scent of them. It's a sunny, mild day here, plenty of sunshine and operatic birds. I even got out and mowed--not my favorite chore in the whole world. However, at least the front yard is done. I'll get the back at some point.

I work tonight with AnalRetentiveWoman. Joy and happiness. Going to be a long, long night.

And I need to begin preparing for it.

Happy weekend!

N.

12:42 p.m. - 2004-05-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged