nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Unsettled.

Today was another bad day for Grams. I attempted to wash her hair this morning and she had a major meltdown. She adamantly refused to allow me to do it for her, refused to allow me to help her do it, refused to have it done period. She worked herself up into a right fine fit. I know it comes from frustration--at her inability to do many of the things she's always been able to, at the fact that she's not in her own home or even in familiar surroundings, at us because we're keeping her (in her eyes) from going home. I tried to be patient, calmed her down as best I was able. Finally, I ended up giving her a Valium. I'd tried everything else to that point, really didn't want to resort to medication but she was that worked up.

I hate days like this.

***

The boys are having bball practice tonight instead of Friday (apparently, our coach is going out of town again and so has changed it all around). And with only three practices under their belts, their first game is next Tuesday. They still don't have their shirts or hats. Perhaps I'm too stringent about organization but why does it seem that everything related to children and activities has the most disorganized leaders? Sheesh. However, we'll do the best we can with what we've got and hope for the best. I just want them to have fun.

***

Work called today, wanting to know if I'd work a double this weekend as someone was requesting it off and I refused. I'm tired of covering everyone else's ass without that favor being returned. And I'm already working half the holiday weekend--I think I'm carrying my weight. Add into that the fact that my stuporvisor put out June's schedule and the one weekend I specifically requested off, she has me working in order to give another clerk the weekend off (even though my request was put in during January).

Bleh.

***

I'm going to try to end this on a more upbeat note. It's breezy and slightly cooler here than it's been the last several days. There are thunderstorms looming on our horizon but hopefully they hold off until after practice. I'm looking forward to an evening after curled up in my house, soothed by the sound of a storm or two, in the dark.

Happy Tuesday.

N.

3:10 p.m. - 2004-05-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged