nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Work and baseball and honeysuckle

Holy Cow!

I'm surprised beyond belief, have only been trying to add an entry for the last several hours. One of the downfalls to not having a gold membership anymore. *le sigh*

At any rate, I'm finally able and happy to be so. It's been an eventful couple of days.

I worked under a completely unscheduled schedule this weekend, spent entirely too much time working with HolsterSniffer (who burned her ass right out of a job, I think but more on that later). Work itself was as slowmoving as it ever is on the weekends. The excitement came with trying to figure out who was actually coming in to work their shifts! HolsterSniffer showed for her shift on Saturday but didn't come in until 9:30 am on Sunday, for a shift that began at 7. Tons of calloffs, too many people unavailable to cover those calloffs. It was a mess. Stuporvisor commented this morning that HolsterSniffer was out the door once we get past this coming weekend. It's going to be a mess as well.

Add into that the idea I had to have a garbage sale Friday and Saturday and you've got one unhappy stuporvisor!

***

The boys and I went to see the new Harry Potter on Saturday evening, at the new theater in Mansfield. The theater is fabulous with not a bad seat in it. They built it with stadium seating and you can have the biggest, baddest bubba in front of you and still see the movie with no probs (trust me, I know from experience!). The movie was pretty spiffy too and the boys loved it. Some really good effects and it's neat to see the characters keeping up with the actors, and vice versa.

And today, we went to see Shrek 2. Can't say that I really liked it (the boys did) other than Puss in Boots and the Fairy Godmother. I certainly wouldn't pay to see it again but it was a nice time out together. Some okay trailers advertised, though. Gave the boys more movies to beg me to see.

We also had another ballgame today and that was twelve tons of fun. Trevor got to play catcher this time for a bit and he hated it as much as Ry but did a better job. They're improving in leaps and bounds. There was a child on our team who got up to bat and pounded the crap out of home plate. His mother asked him three times to stop and he grinned at her and persisted, which then brought the coach over to ask the same thing. When the child continued to persist, Coach skipped him in the rotation which then caused the child to erupt and have a cow, literally lying in the dirt and screaming. His mother pulled him from the game and took him home. I can only imagine how mortified she felt.

All in all, I'm really impressed by my sons progress and their willingness to learn. They're also learning about good sportsmanship and that's a wonderful thing to behold.

Tomorrow is sign-up day at the library for the summer reading program--an important thing so that my guys don't backslide any over the summer. Plus, they enjoy winning silly little trinkets just for reading! Reward system at it's best.

***

It's been pretty warm the last couple days, pushing the honeysuckle in my yard into full bloom. It smells so lovely in my bedroom right now, almost as nice as when my lilacs were in bloom. Someone I know said that honeysuckle makes him think of sex..can't say I disagree.

It'll be nice to go to sleep to that thought tonight.

More tomorrow.

Happy Monday night!! Sweetest of dreams.

N.

11:14 p.m. - 2004-06-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged