nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

brighter days and happier souls

I'm scoffing. Different day, different perspective. Add into that the fact that my life isn't any worse, and is actually better than, some others, and you've got an improved mental status.

Yesterday afternoon, my Gramps went in for outpatient surgery. They were supposed to put in a shunt in order to blast out some kidney stones he had. It wasn't that simple.

He's now in the hospital with renal failure. Not sure how long he'll be there. I spoke with my aunt last night and she said that they'd literally (cringe time, guys) had to cut open certain..parts of Gramps. None of the..erm, tubes that normally are free-flowing were doing their job. He's got to be one uncomfortable camper. And I don't think uncomfortable is the word.

My great aunt, Gram's sister, fell this last week and broke her collarbone (she's in her 90's and if you'll remember, Gram's collarbone has only been healed a couple months as well).

Growing old must be hell. That's the point I've hit in my thinking. Who wants to lose their mind? And what fun it must be to be stuck in a body that's not keeping up anymore. I can say honestly that they've lived long and full lives, experienced plenty. How do you prepare for that sort of loss though?

Makes my little "down" day look oh so insignificant!

Plus, I'm one to bounce back fairly quickly. I like that about myself. I'm allowed to have off days as long as I don't drown myself in them.

***

It's actually cool here today, temp-wise. The breeze raises chill bumps on my flesh. OutsideKitty has been sitting on the rail of the front porch, watching me as I move around inside. Occasionally it heads to the back porch and the picnic table in order to watch the boys. And it's been established that not only do I have too soft a heart for my own good, but I apparently am a cat magnet. Not only has this orphaned cat adopted us, but we will probably, by the end of the weekend, have a white male taking up residence as well. Four cats---what the hell am I thinking? Sheesh.

It started because I've been actively trying to find a dog for the boys. I know that's what brought on the cat flood. I had called earlier this week in regards to a couple dogs in the paper. And directly after Stray found us. And just a couple days ago the approach about the white one was made. He's from the same batch that Freya and Wraith are, from the medical research facility. And the owner has taken ill and is unable to care for him anymore. I just don't know how the girls are going to get on with a male. Suppose it's a wait and see thing. That's what I get for thinking about having a dog. It's cat karma.

At least cats aren't like the gerbils we had--I don't have to worry about one dying and then getting to come home to see it's cage-mate eating it's head.

Ick.

On that yummy note, I hope everyone is having a bright and beautiful weekend. Thanks for bearing with the contemplative ramblings from yesterday. Happy Saturday. I'm off to ready for work.

N.

12:44 p.m. - 2004-06-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged