nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Doin' the Got-My-Car-Back dance

Ryan got popped by a ball in the back of the hand last night while batting. According to my sources (hehe, I love the way that sounds) he picked that bat right back up and shook it off like a trooper. This morning there was mild bruising but doesn't seem to be bothering him in the least. Tough stuff, my little kooks.

Work was interesting last night. My FavoriteCoworker was there as my cohort in crime and we spent much time catching up and talking about all the things you talk with someone about when you haven't really seen them in about a week. I found out that my Stuporvisor has hired a new girl (I say girl as in female--she's 27ish so not really a girl) named Vicki (this is now our third Vicki in the office at this point) who started off her time with us by telling Stuporvisor that she can't work Tuesdays or Thursdays and never third shift during the week. Hmm...this doesn't bode well. Demanding from the get-go! Not my problem, though. As much as I like the actual job, I'm not going to miss the mess of it all. And with that little voice in the back of my head reminding me that my time there gets shorter every day that I work, physically taking myself in there isn't quite so bad.

Go and give irisheyes70 a virtual hug. Sounds like she needs it right about now.

And FavoriteCoworker...I wish she had a place for you all to leave virtual hugs as well. I told her last night I think she's probably one of the strongest people I know, she just doesn't know that she is and she melted into a puddle of tears. Keep in mind the sort of time she's had for the last year or so--not so good. Last night about an hour or so before our shift was up, her son in law called. Apparently, her daughter (let's call her Kia) has been going through some sort of personal crisis. (a little background-Kia has been married since she was 21 and just this year turned 37. Her oldest son turned 13 this year and her youngest is exactly one day younger than Ry. She's always been a very stable and steady person, works hard and is very devoted to her family--now back to the story)

Kia, for the last month, has changed in a major way. Girls' Night Out turned from once a month to Girls' Weekend Out every other weekend. She's losing weight by the bucketload and is so thin it's painful to see. She's tanned darker than a Jamacain. And she's been telling her husband that she's unhappy, has been unhappy for the last ten years, etc. She said she's tired of being a wife and a mom and wants to have some fun. Last night, Kia's husband gave up. He called FavoriteCoworker and asked her to pick Kia up after we got off work. He said that he's keeping the boys and that if Kia wants her freedom so badly, she can have it. FavoriteCoworker looked like she'd been hit by a bus.

And I can't help but think that this added into the rest of everything that she's shouldering has got to be more than one person can stomach. I know that's how she feels.

I have to admit to being in shock myself. Kia was just one of those people that has it all under control and seemed happy doing so. I can't imagine her walking away from her boys. She went through hell just to have the two of them. But walking away is exactly what she chose to do last night.

Many people to keep in my thoughts today.

***

Ryan and Trevor are ecstatic about Josh's birthday party tonight. We went to WallyWorld and got some Yu-gi-oh stuff for him (he's nutty about that sort of thing) and they're chomping at the bit to give them to him. I wish I could go with, just to watch them bowl. I was tempted to call off and go, but the logical and reasonable parts of me talked the not-so-logical side out of it. I can't say I won't call off for the boys' ball tournament next weekend. I've tried to trade shifts but no one seems to want to do so (irritating since I've done it for every reason under the sun for others).

We shall see what happens.

Ah well. I need to get ready for work. I hope everyone is having at least a tolerable day. It's a beautiful Friday here and I've managed not only to pay the bills I needed to with money left over but also to get my stinking Concorde back from the shop after two months of driving a loaner---makes for a good overall Friday for me. Supposedly it needed a new crankshaft sensor--whatever the hell THAT is!? All I know is that it had better stay running or I might very well drive it through the showroom window. *ahem*

Happy Friday, one and all. Leave random nice messages for those diarists you read just to make them smile!

N.

2:14 p.m. - 2004-07-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged