nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ry's birthday

People frustrate me. Or maybe it's just that I frustrate myself. I think I've set my expectations too high, maybe. No one ever does what I think they will. Makes me doubt my ability to read people. The flipside to that coin, however, is that I've never been wrong in my first impressions. Invariably, my first impressions/first gut instincts ring true. Somewhere along the line I get tossed topsy turvy and lose sight of that.

Why would you call off work, having already been written up for it this year, to go fishing when it's two days from a weekend and you already know you're going to be short in hours for the paycheck that day falls into? Is serial-irresponsibility a habit or a condition? And why do some people forget important days (like their grandchildren's birthdays) yet will remember dumb things like the last date they had to buy hay for the horses?

People frustrate me. I think I'm better off spending time with small children and animals.

***

Today is my son Ryan's birthday. Seven whole years we've been gifted with him in our lives. Seven years. My little adrenaline junkie, the same boy who wore 4Toddler jeans for 2.5 years, has grown in leaps and bounds this last year. Not only is he slightly taller (almost 4 ft) but he's lost, completely, that little boy look that was marginally still there. He's getting stocky in the chest and is eating like a horse, indicating a coming growth spurt. He uses words that knock my socks off and knows the meanings to them all. He's developed independent interests and informs me of them daily. Ryan's sense of humor is something to enjoy--he's witty and quick on his feet and enjoys making people laugh. He's become completely modest, won't even allow his brother to see him in his boxers. And BOXERS--he's developed a preference!

Ry has always had a very distinct personality, has always liked his world set up in certain ways. And as he's grown this year, that's only expanded. He's so determined and confident and nothing gets in the way of those qualities. It's like watching his body grow into and catch up with his old soul. Women still love him and little girls are now coming 'round as well. Boys think he's cool and he just eats it all up. I can only imagine what the coming year will bring. So many steps yet to learn and to climb and to conquer. Watching him sleep last night, he still looked like my little boy, my angel. I know, in the depths of me, that these days can't last. There are tumultuous days in our future together but for now I'm enjoying the young man he's becoming.

Happy Birthday, baby.

***

Happy Wednesday.

N.

9:43 a.m. - 2004-07-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged