nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

brain babble

Regardless of the fact that we haven't got a school superintendent (he has moved on to a better paying school district) school starts in exactly two weeks. Class lists go up next Monday.

How'd the summer go so flippin' fast?

Gramp's comes home from the hospital today so I'll be going up at 11 and staying with him till 3 when my aunt comes. They don't want him left alone up there today. Understandable. I don't think I'd like to be alone after having kidney stones taken care of either.

***

I'm sleepy today. It's beautiful here, just enough breeze to bring a chill and slightly overcast. The lack of sleep from this weekend is finally catching up with me.

I'm not sure why I'm even posting any of this--nothing of great importance or creativity, more like a release of the ramblings inside my brain.

I wonder who came up with French toast? Like, who's idea it was to dip perfectly fine bread into slimy eggs and then fry that up...

I remember breakfast when my stepdad was alive consisting regularly of what he called Shit on a Shingle. I've since learned it's plain old sausage or hamburger gravy over toast, but as a kid his terminology made me laugh. Who would possibly want to eat that stuff, just going by the name? I was the oatmeal kid, didn't care for eggs or cereal or toast much. Eggs in my house typically were undercooked (my mother could scramble them, fry them solid or leave 'em runny--that's it). Cereal wasn't ever the cool kind with marshmallows or nifty toys inside. Instead we got Corn Flakes or Rice Crispies, and usually the generic kind that didn't snap, crackle OR pop. Toast got boring really quick, so it was oatmeal for me, or my stepdad's S.O.S.

French toast wasn't a regular because people with hangovers don't want to stick their fingers in slimy substances.

***

Trevor and Ryan went to bed last night, toting along their little flashlights in order to tell each other ghost stories (they said). That quickly turned into reading books under the covers and making shadow puppets and then a wrestling match.

I hope I'm succeeding in my attempts to give them a good childhood. I try to keep things age-appropriate but having had a completely different style of childhood myself, I'm sort of playing it all by ear. Kids don't come with rulebooks or templates.

***

I'm off to cuddle up with my kiddos and watch James and the Giant Peach.

Happy Tuesday.

N.

8:21 a.m. - 2004-08-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged