nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

take 2

I'm putting this in again without the quiz because...that quiz was doin' funky things to my poor diary!

So. Again.

I took the boys to see that damn Yu-Gi-Oh movie tonight. Warning to anyone with children who like this stuff: it was torture. I'm really glad the boys had a good time (and got yet another damn card to trade) but I hated it. Hated. It. And then they wouldn't shut up the whole way home (they were excited and happy), jabbering on and on to each other about it. I'm Yu-Gi-Ohed out. Can't handle one more explanation of this one's powers or that one's attack points. Can't.

Glad my sons had fun. Glad it's over. Glad I'm home. Glad I'm not going back.

***

Parents do those sorts of things for their kids, right? They put their own wants and preferences on the back burner sometimes (ok, alot!) and do things they don't necessarily enjoy, right? To make their children happy? To do the sorts of things that ensure them a happy childhood? That's what I think, anyway. Working from scratch here, remember?

I know someone, probably the most selfish person I've ever known in my entire life, who doesn't quite feel that way. I'm trying to get to a point where I don't know them anymore but that's a slow and arduous process.

Long story and I'm rambling anyway. Chalk this up to a side effect from watching fake beasties battle.

***

So. It's been a long day. I've run since the time I hopped out of bed. I had everything done at Gramps, laundry and everything and was ready to head out the door to accomplish the rest of my day, when he decided it might be nice if I cooked him eggs and bacon for lunch. Oh, and the eggs had to be sunnyside up, uncooked yolk and the bacon had to be cooked soft, not crisp.

Right. And don't forget the toast, dark with lots of butter. Okay.

The first two eggs ended up with broken yolks and I crisped the first pieces of bacon. Started over and accomplished my task, had to do dishes again and then was finally out of there, 5.5 hrs after I first got there.

That effectively put me behind by an hour and a half in my other tasks but I did manage to get everything done but groceries. Hopefully I'll get that done before work tomorrow.

I'm having a Calgon-take-me-away moment. I'd really just like someone to teleport me to another century for awhile. I think I could handle outdoor plumbing just fine right about now, as long as I was far removed from televisions and other annoyances. I want to be away from things technical (yes, even my computer) and into the simple, natural parts of life.

Aw, hell. We all know THAT'S not going to happen. Back to reality. I'm going to light some candles, slide into a hot and bubbly bath and commune with my book, peace and quiet.

Happy Friday the Thirteenth.

N.

1:09 a.m. - 2004-08-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged