nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Official Crackhead Day

Today is officially Crackhead Day.

I haven't a brain left to think with. I've spent the better part of the morning trying to upload pictures to a webhost in preparation for the complete dumping that my computer is going to get. Yep, that's right, I've fought the good fight as long as I could and am now resorting to a system rehaul. I cannot begin to say what a complete pain in the ass this is. The reason it took me hours this morning to upload a few measly pictures is because I couldn't get the damn window to stay open long enough to get anything done! After much swearing at this stupid computer, I think I'm done. There isn't another adorable picture of my sons left in this thing. The site I uploaded them to had better stay up and running until I get my pics saved to disk.

I've also spent a stupid amount of time manually writing down all the web addresses I had listed in my favorites, so as not to lose said list. I have entirely too many sites saved there. Need to start weeding out, I think. I was sort of surprised to realize that, mixed in among the other sites I've saved, there are many diaries I've somehow found that aren't Dland diaries. Most I can't come close to remembering how I came across them or even when I began reading them. And there's certainly no rhyme or reason in my tastes. They don't seem to follow a pattern. Maybe this is why bored housewives enjoy soap operas so much--some sort of rhythm catches and keeps them. I can see that in my list of favorites. Otherwise, can someone please tell me what a polygamous housewife, a professor, a gay socialite, and a new mother have in common with each other, let alone the rest of my list?

***

Cracks of thunder woke me up in the wee morning hours, reminding me that I had windows open all over the house. Windows that let in lots and lots of rain while I slept. It was nice to be lulled back to sleep by the storm, though. Flashing lightning and rumbles of thunder can be so soothing.

It's still raining as I write this, in bits and fits. Beautiful, melancholy rain.

***

Back to the Crackheadedness. I'm just loopy. I don't know if it's lack of sleep or just plain lack of sense but my brain isn't holding anything today. I'm feeling rather sieve-like in that I can't retain a thought for longer than a few moments. I was saying something this morning and forgot what I was saying midway through the thought. And I'm giggly and goofy and lethargic. Think Cat-in-the-catnip goofy. That's me. The boys were fooling around over cereal this morning and I told them they needed to eat their cat food, not spill it. They looked at me blankly then burst into laughter, while I processed the fact that I'd twisted my mental note to buy cat food with my admonition to the boys not to spill their cereal.

*sigh*

It's going to be a long day. This sort of mind frame just won't do for a night of work. Those officers are going to give me such a hard time.

Happy Thursday.

N.

11:41 a.m. - 2004-08-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged