nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stuffed today like the fattest turkey

Evening is creeping in here, edging out the daylight in bits and pieces. Crickets have begun their nighttime chorus with the frogs and I just noticed tonight that the fireflies have left for good.

It's been a long day but not a completely horrible one. Many adventures with the boys today. We had a barbecue, and stuffed ourselves silly, played baseball in the backyard and lost a ball, visited a farm to see baby goats and nifty tractors (which of course warranted numerous pictures) and ended up coming home with bags and bags of garden-grown produce. Turnips--what exactly do you DO with a turnip? I've never tasted one, let alone prepared one. Lots and lots of zuch and cuke, tomatoes and corn. Trevor has been eating cherry tomatoes like candy all afternoon. I stumbled across not only the neatest spiderweb (coming from someone who ABHORS spiders) I've ever seen, but also a neat spider as well (again--I hate 'em!). It was black and yellow, and rather large. Several pictures taken of those which I hope print out to my satisfaction.

Josh came down for a bit, helped to tire the boys out a bit. I think he just likes being in a house that has more than one kid. He just fits here.

I'm still stuffed, tired and ready for the peace that comes with bedtime. This next week is going to be an adjustment, with school starting and everything else I have stuffed into it.

Filled out an application for a parttime job today--if I can't find a fulltime one here to replace what I'm working now, I'll supplement this one until I find something better or hear back from one of the others I've sent my resume out to. I'm pretty certain I've got the parttime one. Piece o'cake.

Tomorrow I have to get the boys' school shoes, haircuts, get to Gramps and clean like mad, get home and clean up the house, finish preparing all the boys' supplies for school and make sure I get the rest of my errands done by 6 p.m. since it's Meet the Teacher night. The boys'll need to get to bed fairly early, need to be rested for school on Tuesday.

Back to the yearly grind again.

***

I wonder when I'm older if I'll look back at this time in my life and regret how I'm living it. I wonder if I'll see things from a different perspective and wish I'd done things differently. I wonder if I'm wasting the life and opportunities that are available to me right now.

The choices we make..do they come back to haunt us forever? Or does there come a time when they fall to the wayside, having been pondered until they were threadbare and worn and then let loose?

Living life is sort of like reading a choose your own adventure book was when I was a kid. The strangest things can change the path you travel.

Happy Sunday evening, one and all. I hope that you've found your own place for peace and quiet tonight. Tomorrow begins a clean slate.

N.

8:25 p.m. - 2004-08-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged