nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The dreaded underwire and old people

I hate underwire bras. As much as I love the lift, I hate the dig. My ribcage groans in protest. And once I've washed the damn bra too many times, those dreaded underwires begin to seek freedom in the Great Wide Open. They begin that search by poking their pointy little ends out, straight into either my armpit or my boob.

Yes, having uplifted boobs is a good thing. I enjoy that particular result of underwires. I really like the cleavage that comes with. I just don't like the damn dig.

Now. That said, try and imagine scrubbing some old lady's floor while wearing one of those. On my hands and knees, bucket at my side, hands immersed in hot, sudsy, Pine-Sol'ed water and the damn wire starts to dig. The options available were to try and adjust the thing, while leaving wet streaks across my chest or deal with it for a few. I endured and finished my project, then went into her (now clean!) bathroom and moved things around a little then continued on my merry way.

Just now, having taken off that painful poker, I see that I have a bruise on my boob where the damn thing attacked me!

I know--you're trying to figure out what I was thinking, wearing one to scrub floors for the elderly? I put all my comfy bras in the wash last night and promptly went to sleep before I remembered to put them in the dryer. The time came to leave this morning and I remembered THEN, when I realized they were all still VERY wet and unwearable.

Lesson learned: Do not scrub floors in an underwire and always remember to dry your clothes BEFORE you go to sleep.

***

I've been passed on. The little old lady I clean floors for has passed me on to her cousin as well. Now I clean floors for two little old ladies. Perhaps this is a franchise in the making. I can be a clerk in law enforcement AND your local cleaning lady! Woo-flippin'-Hoo! It comes down to knowing they need someone to help them and having entirely too much time on my hands during the day. Add into that the small bonus of getting paid to do something I've done weekly in my own house anyway and there you have it. My karma is going to skyrocket with this, I think. Old people just really like me for some reason. I'm one of those "nice girls".

*insert sigh here* What constitutes a bad one?

***

Happy Thursday, one and all. It's cooler today than it has been in a bit and I'm thinking we'll have rain in no time. I have to say that I'm really glad I don't reside in Florida or any of the surrounding areas. No thank you. I'll take a tornado over a hurricane any day of the week.

Peace and best wishes.

N.

12:23 p.m. - 2004-09-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged