nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Little things

Our county fair is running this week and Youth Day is actually on Friday. I refuse to go anywhere near the place on Friday because everybody and their brother is going to be there. Makes it rather hard to get around when there are twelve tons of people and kiddos roaming.

I'm thinking about calling the boys off school on Wednesday and going then. Better game plan, I think. Shorter lines to the rides that look the least likely to fall apart as they ride them, shorter lines to cotton candy and cheese-on-a-stick. End result=happier kids and a more patient mom.

***

Gramps has completely stopped picking up after himself. He has come to rely on the fact that I'm up there every other day and has begun to just leave things around for me. He isn't even walking the dog on the days that I'm there, leaving that to me as well. Sort of sad, because I think that keeping active even just the little that he has, has helped him to get to the ripe age that he has. And his quality of life is going to go downhill quickly if all he does is eat, sleep and watch Turner Classic Movies.

Grams has deteriorated in ways I can't even describe. I haven't mentioned it as much as I've noticed, simply because it breaks my heart. She is so lost in that nursing home, even when there's one of us with her. She's perpetually angry at my grandfather, feeling that he's abandoned her because she doesn't understand and can't remember where she is, let alone WHY. Grams can't remember ten minutes ago but recalls decades ago as if she's living it now. It's sad to see her trying to just go with the flow, when you can see in her face she doesn't understand what's going on or who someone is. She pretends to be with it and still tries to maintain her sense of humor.

I love my Grams. I'll be there until the day she isn't anymore.

***

It's been a long day but ended on a very nice note. Boys are still restless and I need to get them settled so I can linger in a hot bath. G'nite, everyone. Sleep well in your worlds.

N.

8:04 p.m. - 2004-09-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged