nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the color of my brain?

Gold
What Color is Your Brain?

brought to you by Quizilla
***
Yesterday I mentioned that my cousin had been given notice that her company had sold out and she would be losing her job. I received an email from her today (me along with about 30 other people!) detailing how she was losing her job, the impact it might have on her little family, how she herself was doing and what she wanted us to buy the new baby when it's born midway through October.
Her narcissism never fails to astound me. I've heard of people sending out letters to family members around, say, Christmas, giving a basic background for the year for a family but have never heard of someone sending out personal updates and requests every three months or so.
Floored.
***
It's chilly here tonight, only supposed to be in the 40's or so. I've still got most of the windows open in the house and have simply piled more quilts and comforters on. I hate closing up the house before we absolutely have to. And Ry's asthma seems less active with fresh air. I can feel Autumn in the breezes now, can see by the trees that it won't be long before it'll be jacket weather. I'm looking forward to taking the boys pumpkin hunting in just a week or so. We always buy pumpkins way before Halloween and leave them uncarved. Closer to Halloween we'll carve a bunch--just makes sense to not have them rot before the big night!
I bought some of the makings for Trev's costume today--a black hooded robe and a plastic scythe. He wants to be the Grim Reaper! This is my timid boy, the one who is scared of loud noises and HE wants to be the Grim Reaper! I'll paint his face and take some old rope that we have to tie around his waist to dangle an hourglass from. He'll look fearsome. I'm not one to go for blood and gore and have held to that this year as well. We've read a series of books by Piers Anthony and one of them involved Mr. Reaper..I think that's where Trev got the idea, maybe. Not your typical childhood fare.
I dug out my Halloween decorations today and decided that some of it needs to go. It's time to restock. Some of this stuff is older than dirt and is showing some wear. So we're about half done at this point.
***
I think I'm going to bed early. My brain is stuck and frozen and that's not a good thing.
Happy Tuesday. Sleep well, sleep hard, wake up softly.
N.

9:14 p.m. - 2004-09-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged