nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chilly willy

Freeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeezing.
That's me this morning. Ohio has decided to embrace Autumn in a big way and our high today is going to be all of 60 degrees (according to TheLyingWeathermen). My tootsies are frigidly cold and my nipples are perpetually hard. What a way to ring in a Thursday!
The boys groaned at me this morning when I made them dig out their winter jackets. It was only 30some degrees! Of course they're going to wear more than just sweatshirts! Holy cow. I even went so far as to close all the windows last night. I will not, however, turn on the heaters (electric fucking baseboard crappers) until I absolutely have to. Our electric bill goes through the roof with those things and we only keep the living room, family room and boys' bedroom heated. This house is not weather-proofed by any stretch of the imagination. I figure if it had better insulation and there weren't so many gaps in door jams and windows that the heat might actually stay INSIDE a litttle more. At any rate, it's definitely cooler this morning and I'm feeling it. Goosebumps galore! A great day to just stay in bed, curled up under a comforter with a warm body or a good book (you pick!).
I work this afternoon, with FavoriteCoworker. I don't have many days this next month working with her (tons with AnalRetentiveWoman and Newbie) so this will be a treat. Newbie apparently fell yesterday and broke her ankle while hustling to her nursing classes. She's planning on cancelling her courses for this quarter and just mainly trying to keep up with her home life and work--not easy when you're casted up, I suppose.
Certainly not something MY clumsy ass needs to attempt!
***
I caved--I'm allowing Trev to be the Grim Reaper for Halloween. I was sort of creeped out by the whole idea. He is my sunshine boy, after all, and it's a complete opposite of his regular personality to want to be anything remotely scary. Perhaps that's what swayed me, though. No idea..still creepy but I'm settling into it.
In past years, there hasn't been anyone here to pass out candy (and not many trick or treaters to get it) so we've just closed up shop and gone to the old neighborhood to trick or treat. The boys are pretty adamant about someone being here to pass out candy and I suppose I should be glad--this is probably an indication that they are developing a unselfish streak. I guess I'm going to have to try to con (oops! ASK!) my mother into sitting on my front stoop to hand out candy in exchange for taking my little sister trick or treating with us. She might, if I beg hard. She doesn't really like to be in any space but her own..but if I take C. with me instead of her having to walk around as well..that might just do it.
Gah. I can't feel my fingers anymore. I'm typoing like crazy. Time to crawl back under my comforter. Happy Thursday, one and all. Hope it's warm where you are.
N.

8:46 a.m. - 2004-09-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged