nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quiet evening and rambling thoughts

I'm done being grumpy.
'Nuff said on that.
The house is quiet. The boys have gone off to church with J, frolicking in the front yard like puppies just before they left. They'll be home around 8:30. It's strange to be here in this sort of quiet. I'm used to the before-bed routine--wrangling ornery boys into showers, picking up wet towels, making sure backpacks and clothes are ready for school tomorrow then getting them settled down so they actually go to bed at some point. I imagine this is what moms experience with empty nesting, although it's probably much worse for them. This hasn't been all that unpleasant, just odd.
***
I'm going to attempt to make pumpkin cookies tomorrow, after I clean for the elderly lady next to Gramps and before the boys get out for early release at 1:40. Never attempted them before, nor the "brown butter icing" that goes with in this particular recipe.
We shall see how they turn out.
Another adventure in Martha Stewarting.
***
I read today that Janet Leigh died. And Rodney Dangerfield.
Sad.
I don't like the idea of death. The idea of just going..away. Not being anymore. Not breathing, not seeing or hearing, not living. It freaks me out. I wonder if celebrities ever worry about not being remembered. Perhaps it's just part of human nature.
***
The weekend is creeping up in bits and spurts. Are you ready for it?
Happy Wednesday.
N.

7:45 p.m. - 2004-10-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged