nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Expecting rain, baby K, and life.

The temperature has dropped since I got up this morning, becoming more and more overcast as the morning has progressed. It's begun to sprinkle a bit here and there and I'm anticipating some major rain before too long. I noticed today, for the first time really, that the ducks and other assorted birds are beginning their flying formations and migration patterns. Our city park has a pond that birds use as a layover in their travels and it has seen some action lately. I've also noticed the squirrels getting plumper and scurrying 'round with their cheeks shoved full, heading off to unknown storage areas to stock up for Winter.
Little old ladies up and down our street have begun the raking process. I swear one leaf falls and they're all out there to rake it up.
***
Kameryn is in the NICU at Akron Children's, having been relieved of 10 oz. of bowel. Part of her large intestine is still protruding from her body and from what I understand (having talked to SpoiledCousin while she was drugged) they'll then attach a colostomy to that section. Kameryn will have the colostomy bag for several months, until she's stronger and better healed. She'll remain at Akron Children's for another 2-3 weeks, as she's still considered in critical condition. It's a day by day process for her. Cousin will be released on Friday (they're thinking).
Poor little baby.
***
I work tonight but only for four hours. That's cake. My coworker will be BeepBeepGirl and it should go swiftly. FavoriteCoworker will be there to relieve me at 7 pm and that's a good thing as I have a mountain of books to give her that I managed to forget on Monday evening.
I'm coming down with a cold. I can feel it, in the tickle in my throat and sniffles I'm fighting off. I don't have time for a cold or to be sick and I refuse to give in, damnit!
The boys were funny last night. I was a tad irritable and they were so pushing my buttons. I think they sense that I'm bothered and take that as an indication that NOW might be the time to get what they want. It's difficult, however, to get mad when they push and then dissolve in a fit of giggles directly after. In fact, those giggles are contagious and I end up laughing right along with them. Perhaps that's the saving grace of having kiddos--they push but they entertain as well.
Happy Wednesday! Stay dry and warm, there's a storm a-brewin'.
N.

11:05 a.m. - 2004-10-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged