nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Conferences and how I set my stove on fire.

Entry number two:
Today were conferences. I went in prepared for the worst, considering last year's conferences and was overjoyed. Trevor's was first and I'm a happy camper. He's doing well. His teacher says she's seen a complete turnaround with Trev, almost as if he's a different child from last year. He still has difficulty with social situations but is improving. Overall, he's doing wonderfully. He's mastered his reading completely, mathematically is one of the further advanced kiddos and is working hard at controlling his impulses and tics. Trevor was so proud walking out of his teacher's room this afternoon, proud of himself and in a child like Trev, one who is very hard on himself and one who really needs a cheerleader to help with his confidence issues, that's a great and wonderful thing.
Ryan's conference went well too. His teacher reiterated that he tends to be a little too social (something every teacher I ever had said about ME) and he has alot of work to do on his handwriting (no surprise there, either). He's a bright kid, not struggling academically so I'm not about to come down on him too hard. His chatterbox mannerisms aren't getting in the way of his education, apparently.
All in all, great conferences.
In other news, I managed to set my stove top on fire today. Literally, flames shooting up off the surface, smoke filling the kitchen kind of fire. I was making dinner and hadn't realized that at some point, something was spilled on the burner plate of one of the back burners on the stove top. I began boiling water (yes, I caught my stove on fire BOILING WATER!) and walked out into the living room to check on the boys' homework progress. I came back into the kitchen to see smoke rolling around the edge of the pot and as I lifted it off the burner, saw flames begin just underneath. I stood there for a few seconds, staring stupidly at the fire, absolutely dumbfounded that I'd done this while boiling water and then realized I needed to PUT THE DAMN THING OUT! What did I do? I BLEW on it. Oh yes, I blew on the fire. It wasn't, after all, electrical or oil based, it was just something burning off the plate underneath the burner. Thankfully, I actually was able to blow it out with my hot air. It was only a little-ish fire, really, only covered half the burner in flames but big enough to set off the fire alarm in my hallway, which then set off my children (who've been very well-educated by local firefighters who came to their school). They began tugging me out the front door, telling me we needed to follow our "fire plan", while I'm trying to tell them it's out and okay.
Fun stuff. I'm so coordinated.
I hope your Monday was as..eventful.
N.

9:00 p.m. - 2004-10-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged