nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My dentist will love me

The boys jumped off the bus and made it to the house in record time this afternoon. Amid the chattering of voices layering voices, I was able to get them into their costumes and out the door. FavoriteCoworker had made up these adorable little baskets for them, filled to the brim with every candy bar known to man and my treat was the November schedule. We then headed up to see Grams and Gramps. The little old ladies at both places just loved their outfits.
In spite of the fact that our little town limits the kids to an hour of trick or treating, they made out like mad. And we picked a good neighborhood--the majority of it's chocolate. I remember when I was a kid we went until our feet were tired, sometimes hours. Everyone gave out candy and we had neighborhoods earmarked because they gave out the best little candy bars or bubble gum. I noticed (and was disappointed) that many kiddos weren't even really dressed and instead had simply painted their hair a different color. I know that money is tight here, know that alot of people have lost jobs and revenue. I also know it doesn't take alot to create costumes---I'm living proof of that. Creativity. That's about it.
Tomorrow night is the downtown trick or treat, where area businesses give out candy. I have to work so unless someone else takes them, my boys won't attend that one. Probably just fine anyway. We've got more candy than I'll allow them to eat by next Halloween!
They had a quick dinner and then sorted candy as I washed dishes and then made bread and brownies (trying to get a jumpstart on tomorrow!). Homework was finished and boys were tucked in, still chattering away about the evenings' events.
The weather cooperated. It was cool but not cold, and perfect. We've had years recently where the children had to wear Winter jackets over their costumes. Sort of loses the impact that way.
I still have alot to accomplish before school parties tomorrow, cupcakes to bake and frost and yet another batch of brownies to cook and stuff with gummi worms. I finished filling the goody bags with candy and glow in the dark bugs and other assorted fun stuff. Just need to get a little organized and we'll be good to go. I'm a little disappointed that I won't be able to stay at the boys' parties tomorrow, since I have to be at work at 3 but at least I'm able to be there for a bit.
The jack o'lanterns are glowing merrily on the front porch, leering and grinning to usher in another night. And I'm off to watch E.R.
Happy Thursday.
N.

9:40 p.m. - 2004-10-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged