nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Windy whimsy

Today was a glorious day. The sky had nary a cloud and was the sort of blue you only see in paintings and storybooks. Really, really windy, blowing the leaves around and into the air. The trees bent and swayed and danced with the gusts. They're nearly bare now, having been blown clean by the winds today and yesterday. A few stubborn leaves still cling to the farthest reaching branches.
We went to the boys' school today, to fly kites in the open field next to it. With the winds as strong as they were today, figured it might be a good opportunity to try and get that box kite into the air. Boy, did it fly! It flew strong and tight and ended up snapping the string and flying right over top of the school. We managed to corral it back into the car, along with Ry's Dragonball Z kite and headed down to the trails they just built in the little nature preserve adjacent to the school. A beautiful day for a hike. There are six trails that meander through the area, some of it heavily wooded, some of it through marshland and some through fields, dips and rises. The sun shone through even in the thickest of the wooded parts and played peekaboo with the boys as they scampered through. We found bird nests and bee hives, tons of different leaves and even some cattails. I came across the biggest gingko leaves I've ever seen and the most beautiful clearing filled with nothing but waist-high field grasses and Queen Anne's Lace. It was nice, to be outside with the warm breezes blowing, in the sunshine with my sons. Nice enough that I called off work.
Yep, I'm bad. I should, right this second, be sitting behind my desk, typing on a completely different system, listening to AnalRetentiveWoman rasping through yet another boring story with half an ear peeled for the ever-coming 101 while keeping one eye on the camera monitors. Can't rightly say that I'm missing that much. Not at all.
We went to dinner and then came home. I tried hard not to laugh while the boys used my back, butt and legs as a race track for Hot Wheels. Fruit loops. They've settled into watching Animal Planet, something about Hollywood's creepiest animals or some such thing.
Overall, a nice day. I'm sure going back to work won't be all that fun but I'm not overly worried. They'll deal, just as I've dealt every time I've had to cover for someone.
Happy Saturday. Hope your day went as well as mine.
N.

8:06 p.m. - 2004-10-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged