nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Veterans and pennies

There was a concert at the boys' school today in honor of Veteran's Day and I was lucky enough to be able to move my work hours around a bit to enable me to attend.
I found myself crammed in this tiny school gymnasium, surrounded by a mish mash of parents, kids and grandparents. It was stuffy and overly warm and incredibly moving and wonderful. The veterans association here in our small town attended, all of them in uniform. The kids stood and sang a collection of songs, all themed to America and the appreciation of our veterans.
I didn't know that the sound of small voices combining and singing some of the most well-known songs in our heritage would move me as it did. There was something about the whole thing that really touched me. At one point, all the students stood, after having had the veterans stand as well, and while singing God Bless America, they saluted. The elderly man sitting next to me sat down rather abruptly and I noticed him wiping his eyes. It was just very touching.
***
I came to the conclusion today that pennies multiply, like rabbits, in the dark depths of my purse. I never seem to run out of them, always have more than I thought, and will never use them for anything really useful (except maybe those penny squishing machines at Cedar Point or Geauga Lake).
I think that receipts are like that too. They wiggle their way down, only to surface when I'm looking for something completely different.
Go hug a veteran.
Happy Wednesday.
N.

2:55 p.m. - 2004-11-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged