nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Okay, Ollie

Incredibly foggy here this morning, so thick there didn't seem to be an "other side" to it all. It was beautiful and grey, all muted and soft. And it was funny how it seemed to linger through the overcast day and then creep back in full force as dusk fell tonight. Almost as if it were a living, breathing beastie, just hovering on the outskirts waiting for the dark.
It's been an interesting day here. I cornered my Stuporvisor at Job Numbah 1 and inquired as to the current status of my position. I was given, as I expected, the whole "everything's uncertain" spiel and that was about it. Had to do it, though. Job Numbah 2 is smoothing out in bits and pieces. My register tapes are still quirky but that seems to be settling a bit as well.
I'm so looking forward to tomorrow. Downtime. Decompress time. Lovely.
I took Gramps to his appointment with the doctor this morning. He's so funny. As seems typical of all male-type figures, he hates seeing doctors and makes that abundantly clear. He has a lump on his wrist that my aunts felt needed looked at (ganglian cyst) and a funky rash on his belly (some sort of fungal thing) and the doc medicated him for both. Doc also gave him a prescription for a water pill, for his blood pressure. Gramps response? "Is it going to make me piss?"
Cracked me up. I was hard pressed not to laugh my butt off at the look on the doctor's face (one of those little foreign guys you can't even understand). Gramps is also not overly fond of the sneakers my aunts have managed to get him to wear. He has a tendency, in colder weather, to slip and fall. They're hoping with better traction that'll become less of a problem. I think these shoes are going to make him trip more. He shuffles instead of actually striding as he walks. And now he calls the shoes his "gunboats".
I finally figured out who the manager at Job Numbah 2 reminds me of. Ellen Degeneres. No kidding! Really. Ellen's just blond, whereas Manager has dark hair and her's is cut shorter. Same sort of demeanor, though. Very matter of fact. Funny. Remember Wannabe, the chickie with the redneck/jive talk? She called off yesterday, claiming she was going to the E.R. because she was gushing blood (thanks for THAT mental image!)...however, she showed up at Job Numbah 2 wearing a white halter dress and heels. Hmm...something's just not ringing true here.
***
I want to wrap myself in the fog and get lost for awhile. Second best? Curling up with CSI.
Happy Thursday.
N.

8:48 p.m. - 2004-11-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged