nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Anyone want to hire a damned good secretary?

Oh, happy days.
I got the official written letter this morning, notifying me that as of December 31st, 2004, my job as a clerk is done. They've eliminated our positions. Those protected by the union will continue working until an agreement is established or until push comes to shove and they have to be systematically laid off.
Joy and happiness. If I continue working up to the very last day, I'll have a check to carry over into January. I explained to the Stuporvisor that I'd be looking elsewhere and if I find a job that wants me to start immediately, I will be. I also am torn because I'm not sure I really want to spend my Christmas holiday in there. The job is ending, they've shown no loyalty or consideration to any of those they're letting go and I should continue showing it to them, WHY?
I've put almost four years into that place, in hopes of progressing, thinking (in error) that it was the sort of position I didn't have to WORRY about being laid off from or having my position eliminated. And I liked my job. It was interesting and at times entertaining, stimulating and I was good at it. I now face going back on the hunt in search of a "real" job, trying to find it in a jobmarket that's really limited right now. I have a new mini van I need to make sure I can make payments on. I have children I need to feed and clothe and try like hell to provide a good Christmas for.
I'm sad and frustrated and even a tad angry. I can't imagine that there weren't other ways to cut back. Funny how chopping heads is the first step, rather than taking a cut in administrative pay, out of state trips or unnecessary spending.
***
In other news, we've got a dog staying in our house for at least this week. Dog-sitting, if you will. She's a mix of beagle and Jack Russell terrier, cute and stocky and at times, wound for sound. Crazy pooch. The cats have taken her in with very little reaction. Surprised me, actually. I figured there'd be hell to pay but that doesn't seem to be the case.
Today is drizzly and cold. The boys are out of school for their Thanksgiving break. We went to Gramps' and took care of other limited errands I needed to accomplish and we're going to spend the afternoon cleaning. Fun stuff.
Happy Wednesday, all, and happy Thanksgiving.
N.

10:19 a.m. - 2004-11-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged