nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Holding the snipers at bay

Thanksgiving was stuffed full of people and food and warmth. I neglected to post my "list o'things thankful for" but it's very close to the one from last year. Things could be alot worse.
In addition to the norm, I'm thankful I was given a notice on the elimination of my position. I'm thankful that I found Job Numbah 2,which helps buffer that loss a bit. I'm thankful the broken tie rod in the car didn't cause a major accident before I figured out what it was.
There's alot to my life that's good.
I hope everyone had a great Turkey Day. We got a little snow but nothing that hung around. Now it's just chilly as all get out.
***
Work last night was different. Firstly, I was on my own which was unusual. I'm used to having a coworker but it wasn't horrid. Just..weird. Secondly, it's pretty tense there right now. Everyone thinks they're losing their jobs, everyone is trying to figure out ways to diminish that danger a bit and people are biting at each other like I've never seen. Supposition is that I'll be lucky to have hours into the middle of the month. Apparently they're wanting to cut back in a major way before everyone's vacations, etc. renew. Already I'm feeling disconnected from the place. I took down my pictures and began clearing out my locker. Figured it would be better to get it done ahead of time than wait till the last minute.
***
The boys are sniping at each other today. We need to get out into the fresh air for a bit, I'm thinking. Let them run off some energy. That might not be possible until tomorrow, though. I have to finish Grams' and Gramps' laundry and get that back to them, tidy up 'round the house a bit and make sure I'm at work by 3 this afternoon. Tomorrow is a free day and I'm looking forward to it immensely.
Happy Saturday, one and all.
N.

10:19 a.m. - 2004-11-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged