nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Who needs Ebert when you have me?

I spent a couple hours last night immersed in the movie Taking Lives. I was surprised by how much I really enjoyed it. Definitely had a few twists to it, but you can't go wrong with Angelina Jolie and serial killers. Good stuff. There's one particular scene where you see a man hunched over an older woman, sawing off her head in a most determined manner and then he looks up with such a look of lunacy blended with clarity...it's striking. Splendid portrayal of that scene. I enjoyed this movie immensely. I also watched Van Helsing this afternoon and I'm torn on that one. There were parts that I liked, parts I didn't like so much.
While perusing the video racks, I noticed an interesting trend. What's with Ashley Judd? She's found a rut. Stereotyping, maybe? I've lost count of how many movies she's starred in as a detective/good guy in cahoots with a smart black man (Samuel L Jackson and at least two with Morgan Freeman), usually involving a crime or serial killer that she has to set straight. Thinking the girl needs some new scripts. She's good in that sort of role but branching out is good too.
Did I mention that Angeline Jolie's breasts are exposed in Taking Lives? My, my, my.
ANYWAY. Saturday I'm getting smashed. I'm not much of a drinker, probably drink maybe twice a year, if that. I'm going out, to a Christmas party (yep, early, I know) and I'm going to tie one on. I'm not the designated driver for once, not the caretaker and I'm ready to let loose some stress. The boys are spending the night with my aunt and I'm looking forward to getting all spruced up and torqued. Splendid.
This dog is a nuthead. She thinks she's human, I think. Gracie wants to go everywhere we do, thinks that my bed is her bed, couches are for sitting, etc. It's been ages since I've had a dog around and it's funny. In fact, I think it's been about ten years since I had a dog. I didn't realize it had been quite so long, but then it had been almost that long since I'd had a cat as well. With tiny kids in the house, who needed an animal to help make more of a mess? Like I had any time left over! I love our beasties though. They've added to our little family in ways I forgot they could.
Happy Thursday, everyone. I hope this week has been kind and not as rushed as the next several inevitably will. Christmas is fast approaching, like a steam train without breaks.
Sweet dreams.
N.

8:16 p.m. - 2004-12-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged