nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Party details and how N became a thief

Well, now, where was I?
The dress I wore was black and long and felt like suede but wasn't. It was soft and more flowing than suede and lovely, with a little red jacket that went with. I even accessorized! Please keep in mind that when doing laundry, cleaning house, attending ballgames and chauffering kids around, appropriate accessories aren't a high priority. And I'm generally a fairly casual gal..so! Getting ritzy was fun.
There was a huge mix of people, from twenty something chickadees in painted on dresses to middle aged men in their frumpy funeral suits and ties that have seen one too many stains. It was held in the convocation center at the college in my little burg, a huge room with mood lighting and space galore.
The food was good, with cute little sandwiches and crab cakes, tiny fruit kabobs and shrimp cocktail as hors d'oeuvres. The salad was a strange little number consisting of spinach (not so weird) and mandarin oranges (maybe just a little different) and huge slices of purple onion (combined with spinach and mandarine oranges?) and candied walnuts, of all things. Just a little...weird. Dinner was a choice of rice pilaf topped with shrimp, pecan-encrusted chicken breasts or beef tenderloin (leading me into my raw meat comments from last night), as well as mashed potatoes with thick green thingies (no clue), mashed yams topped with a crust of pecans, fresh green beans and almonds (nutty group, weren't we?), and an assorted broccoli/cauliflower dish.
The beef tenderloin was cooked on the outside but not on the in. I couldn't handle even touching raw hamburger until I was about 18. Bloody meat and I don't mix (hence my tendency to be on the anemic side). If I don't have to prepare it, and it ends up well done, I can eat it without a problem. I can cook pork chops now and ground beef, and I can drop a roast in the crock pot (no touching involved there!) but that's about the extent of it. Last night, in the almost dark, not looking and trying really hard not to think about it, I ate a piece of the beef tenderloin. I suppose it's okay but not something I could stomach often. Eek.
The centerpieces consisted of these lovely glass pedestal candles, with these petite and beautiful arrangements of pine and cones and live roses arranged around the bases or dangling off the sides. They were gorgeous and I must have commented more than once in my intoxicated state that I wanted one. As we were leaving, I snagged one. Tucked it under the jacket draped over my arm and away I went. So bad! Found out later that we were allowed to take them--glad about that! Thieving isn't my thing.
During the course of the evening, it was decided that coffee would be a good thing and after having asked repeatedly if we could get a carafe of coffee, I tugged on the sleeve of a girl passing by and asked if I had to go brew it myself...I think she was a little offended. Flirting with the guy who brought it finally got us off the hook (heh).
Someone decided it would be a good idea to have the employees at this particular company Christmas party to sing assorted Christmas songs via karaoke in groups of six, in hopes of winning some money. First prize was $100 dollars each, second was $75 and third was $50. We couldn't hear a thing. It was the worst sound system I'd ever heard. Literally couldn't hear a thing. The singers must have been having a heck of a time, though, as from my distance (even while sober) they appeared very animated to me. My mother was there, without her boyfriend and tied one on herself. She even danced with this guy with a ponytail in the back and no hair on top. My brother B. was also there (mom and B both work at the same place as the people I was with, the same facility I got my kitties from) and he was plastered. He came into the place drunk. I was uncomfortable with that, even slightly embarassed. I know it's his defense in situation he's uncomfortable in...I can't help wishing for something better for him, though. He was so plastered by the time he left, he could hardly walk. Not good.
There were some hilarities--the man in the leather pants that showed ENTIRELY too much in front, the lady resembling a sausage in a dress line dancing (picture a bratwurst doing the Electric Slide and you get the picture), the cook who managed to catch an entire skillet of crabcakes on fire.
I had a good time. Nice to do at least once a year.
Happy Sunday evening, all. Sleep well.
N.

11:24 p.m. - 2004-12-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged