nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Toestoestoes

Holy COW! What a day. My morning began easily--I dug out my Gramps' Christmas decor from the depths of his hall closet and completely drenched his apartment in holiday cheer. Then it was time to take one of my sons to an appointment in Akron-no biggie there. We arrived in good time, started up through the myriad hallways to the office and I noticed that he was limping. I asked what was wrong and he said he'd stubbed his toes this morning. We got registered and then they had him slip off his shoes to get his weight. I had him keep off his shoes and after the nurse was done with us, I checked out his toes. His second, third and fourth toes looked like little sausages, all swollen and reddened. I mentioned it to the doc when he came in and he examined them. After taking care of the basis for our visit, he gave us a slip that was supposed to speed us through the radiology department at warp speed.
RIGHT. We sat there from 10:45 am until 1 pm, waiting. The final straw was when another couple came in from the Mansfield area and reported a horrendous 4 car pile up on 76 West (our route home). We left without getting the results and attempted to find an alternative route home.
I pulled in the drive at 3pm. I had to go through Akron and some ass backwards way to 71 South. I was panicking, knowing the bus would be getting home soon and there wouldn't be anyone there. No problems, though. I came in and called the doc's office again and found that there are no visible fractures but that doesn't rule out a hairline fracture that didn't show on the Xray. The doctor said to treat it like a sprain/stove unless pain or swelling worsens. So. That's my plan.
Joy and happiness. I love running my ass off. Keeps me young. At minimum, I think I know every way out of Akron there IS now! Heh. And I drove in the cruddy traffic like a champ. Big city drivers, look out!
I hear the bus coming. More tonight.
N.

3:40 p.m. - 2004-12-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged