nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Call them mellow fellows

Although today was cold, we didn't have more snow so I won't complain. Warmer days are coming and I'm not looking forward to them strictly because my basement's going to be a mess. I suppose that's what my shop vac is for.
The boys have been silent as snow falling. They've kept themselves amused with the twelve tons of toys they received. I don't look forward to the day the newness wears off a bit. I'm enjoying this immensely. I spent some time today playing basketball with them in their room and have to say it's a nifty thing. They didn't make toys like that when I was a kiddo!
Wally World was a train wreck this afternoon. I went in to exchange a shirt Trev got and the ten-in-one game set my mother bought the boys as it was missing pieces. They didn't DO exchanges-only refunds. They scanned the items and gave me the cash back, then I had to turn around and go buy them back. Unfortunately, the ten-in-one set was all sold out so they got a chinese checkers set instead. There were people bottle necked everywhere in that place! My leisurely day got a tiny crimp in it, just from being there. Otherwise, it was nice to be home, in my own space and in my jammies, for the most part.
J came down for a bit tonight and was very unhappy to be signalled home early. His mother was worried that he was "overexerting" himself. *insert sigh here*
Over. Exerting. Right.
I've tortured them a bit tonight, watching Mary Poppins until they literally crawled out of the living room on their hands and knees to escape. Too funny.
My street still resembles something out of rural Alaska, with huge snow ledges and drifts so deep. It's barely negotiable, hard to even pull out of a drive without smacking into snow the plow piled up. The dog seems to think she can only pee on concrete and has managed to pee in all of my neighbor's driveways as well as mine. Silly shit.
The ice that coats everything is gorgeous. It's like living in a world made of glass, all glistening and light reflective. There are icicles hanging off of everything, jagged and pointed. So pretty. And so clean still.
I'm tired. Bone tired. I'll be very glad to get things back on an even keel. The Christmas tree is coming down this week and I've got big plans to demolish the clutter in my house. And in just over a week, the boys will be back in school and things will come back to a semblance of order. I'm hugely looking forward to that.
Happy Sunday, one and all. Enjoy coming back.
N.

9:14 p.m. - 2004-12-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged