nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Merry Christmas 2004

I know, I know. It's been a whole four days since I updated. Couldn't be helped, you know. Christmas and all that. I don't know if I even know where to start. Let's see if I can do a basic synopsis.
Wednesday my Gramps had surgery to have a ganglian cyst removed from the side of his hand. In the span of a month, it went from non-existent to almost three inches long and two inches deep. The poor man had a growth sticking out two inches from the side of his hand! They cut it off and wrapped him from the elbow up. I'm thinking it's sort of like with dogs, maybe. Dogs they overwrap because they'll dig and mess with it and that way the dogs don't do any damage. Same thought for my Gramps' arm, maybe.
Christmas began early for us. The boys and I celebrated ours on Thursday morning, before I had to go to work. May I also add in that we got twelve tons of snow the night before that? Yes, I mean twelve tons. Okay, maybe I just mean over two feet. All in the span of about 24 hrs. Lots and lots and lots of snow. I shoveled roughly every two hours and still could not keep up. And once I went to bed, it was all over with. Our street still is only one lane. It looks like we tunneled in and out. We had traveling to do for the holidays and so struck out on Thursday for distant places. A trip that generally takes only about half an hour took almost an hour and a half. I was afraid, however, that if we didn't leave when we did, that we WOULDN'T be leaving because it would ice up. I can handle slush and snow--ice and I don't mix too well. Travels were fun and we've been home since about 4 o'clock this afternoon. The boys spent the larger part of the evening playing with all their new things. At least that's what I hear since I had to work.
We're now the proud owners of skateboards and scooters and a basketball thing with net underneath to return the ball to you that stands a stinkin' six feet tall! and Yu-Gi-Oh crap galore and new games for the PS2 and this funky interactive baseball game you play with the television sort of like virtual reality. Ryan was overjoyed with his last vestiges of small-boyness: his Care Bear Cousin. All in all, they made out like bandits. Lots of fun.
The dog has been funny as hell. The cold and the snow are throwing her for a loop. She hates it with a vengeance. I caught her barking at a snow drift yesterday.
Tonight I was only scheduled four hours but that rapidly turned in to longer when the guy coming in after me failed to show. I ended up working six hours instead. He finally woke up and came in, just as my manager pulled into the lot. Not a happy camper was she. He apologized profusely but my feet told him to save his breath before they shoved themselves up his ass. No, really, I just told him it was okay and came home. My feet hurt and I'm tired and sick of sleeping on sofa beds that suck. I wanted to be in my own space, in my own home, in my own skin again. As awful as it sounds, I'm glad Christmas is over. This year was even more stressful than the norm, for myriad reasons not limited to my job loss. And on that front there's potential--one of the customers that came in tonight mentioned an opening at the juvenile detention center. I'm going to apply. They need a part-time female, making the same amount basically I was making at the p.d. Not really the same work so much but still acceptable, I guess. Hell, who'm I kidding? I want work beyond serving people with a smile.
On that note, I'm off to bed. Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night.
Glad to be back.
N.

11:21 p.m. - 2004-12-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged