nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Of mice and sleds

Finally lost my marbles this afternoon and determined that snow or not, the kids needed to be outside, burning off some energy. Even my sister was wired. That's how we ended up at the park. It was quite obvious (lack of footprints in the deep, deep snow) that no one had really ventured out there but us. The snow has dampened enough and then frozen to create a crust just over the top layers and that created the best sledding surfaces. We climbed to the top of the steepest hill there and began the process of making sledding paths. Remember how, as a kid, you had to get the snow packed just so to increase speed and wear down bumps? Yep. After finally accomplishing that, we were down to business. Boy, did they fly! We spent the better part of an hour there, sledding and making snow angels and burying each other in the snow. Then we went to the little store down the way from us and had hot chocolate. Good stuff.
Reminds me of winters when I was a kid. The boys haven't believed me when I said every Winter was like this one, when I was smaller. I remember snowfalls just after Thanksgiving and the snow then staying around till around my birthday in March. In comparison, the last several years have been mild.
Gracie got a bath today. She's a nut. While most dogs will do the shake thing afterwards, she runs around the house, rubbing against the furniture and then rolling on her back. It's not a flea thing, she's just a fruit loop. It's not unusual after a bath to see Gracie Noodle scooting around like her ass is on fire. Too funny.
The ice glaze that coated the trees began to melt today. TheLyingWeathermen claim it's going to warm up and possibly rain on Friday. Let's hope it comes in small increments!
Sam the Grand Mouser caught yet another mouse this morning. After dropping it in the bathroom and chasing it into the boys room, I found he had it trapped in a quart-sized Ziploc I'd given them for their Magnetix. Gripping Mr. Mouse's tail, I took him outside and flung him across the snow-covered yard. He disappeared into the snow, so I don't know if he froze out there or tunneled his way back into my house. Do mice tunnel through snow? I felt bad for poor Sam--he was still searching for the damn mouse! Poor hunter had an aborted search-and-destroy mission.
I'm going to bed early tonight. Stayed up entirely too late last night and I'm beat.
Sweaty dreams, Dlanders. Sleep well and happy Tuesday.
N.

8:24 p.m. - 2004-12-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged