nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Recap

I had a whole entry almost done and the cat sat on the keyboard and somehow sent me back to the previous page I was on, thereby erasing every word I'd typed.
*insert sigh here*
Let's see if I can catch back up.
A) New Year's Eve found us standing in line to see Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events. Good movie, even from an adult/parental standpoint. Not a big fan of Carrey normally (hated him as The Grinch) but loved the life he brought to the characters in this film.
B) After Lemony, we went to Wally World hoping to purchase Sorry but Wally World had closed literally five minutes prior to our arrival. Discount Drug Mart, however, was awake and bustling and gleefully sold us the game.
C) I digressed to a detailed description of New Year's Eves spent at my Gram's as a kid, surrounded by sleeping bags, cousins (both sleeping and awake), food and games of all sorts. I then noted that I have tried to carry that over a bit to my own sons and made sure that we had tons of munchies, including the boys' favorite "little weinies" (lil smokies wrapped in croissant dough then deep fried in my FryDaddy) which made them stuffed and happy. We then commenced Board Game Battles and watched a bit of I, Robot until it was ball dropping time with Regis. So sad not to have Dick instead. Ryan, by that time, had given in to sleep and when I tried to wake him for a moment, he mumbled something nonsensical and crawled back under his blanket backwards, feet on his pillow. I love that not-quite-awake stage.
D) My poor Freya is lumpy and bumpy again. I have a hot date tomorrow evening with a new vet (the last one overcharged and didn't do dick for my poor girl). She's more needy than normal and spending alot of time in the basement--not good in light of the amount of water that's down there right now. The dog,Gracie, is exacerbating the situation as she seems to think Freya and she need to be the best of buds. It's like having Dynasty of the Feline/Canine kind in the middle of my living room. No pretty, friends. So hopefully New Vet can cure my kitty of her allergy-induced itchies and make her a happy girl again.
E) My cousin's baby Kameryn is home!!! I held her today for the first time and she's so incredibly tiny and beautiful and fragile and sweet. After having spent almost three months in the NICU, she resembles a brand new baby more than an almost three month old. She seems so fragile, I'm afraid to breathe on her lest I break her into a million pieces. I held her and she settled right down into slumber, until her mother stripped her naked for a bath. Then the temper reared it's ugly head and the entire world knew her displeasure. Kameryn (or Kami, as everyone else seems wont to call her) is lovely. I've vowed to turn her into a full-fledged tomboy as I did Tater and Cousin was horrified. Tuesday I get to babysit both Kameryn and Katelyn while Cousin goes to the doc for several hours. I'll be both nuts and ecstatic by the time she returns for them. Girls are a different brand of creature, ya know.
K. Think that covers what I'd had already. Tomorrow we settle back into our normal schedule. I'm glad for that, will be glad for the space in my days to accomplish the tasks that I've lagged behind on. And my closets are driving me crazy!
Work sucks.
And we're having early Spring-like temps here. All that snow we got hit with so suddenly? All gone. Melted and then some. It's been raining for the last several hours and has maintained temperatures in the 50's for the last couple days. It's so...weird, even for Ohio. There's mud everywhere and water galore. If it keeps coming down, I'll be having to canoe to my washer and dryer. Sheesh.
Okay, enough for now. I hope everyone had a great and safe weekend, hope that 2005 began with something positive. Happy Sunday, all.
N.

10:20 p.m. - 2005-01-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged