nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which Ms. N wants to kill vets and more

I'm going to kill that stupid vet who cost me so much money and gave me a wrong diagnosis on my cat. Allergy, my ass. Freya has been acting a little off the last couple of days, sleeping in her litter box and spending alot of time in the basement. She's also broken out in her itchy bumps again so I finally decided to take her to a different vet to get a second opinion. This idea of allergies just wasn't cutting it for me. Just wasn't buying it.
One of the girls I used to work with at the p.d. mentioned a vet on Hamburger Hill who had walk-in clinic hours in the evening and was reasonably priced so I hoofed it up there last night. This, after having to literally hunt my cat down (she saw the cat carrier and knew I was up to no good), peel her off my chest and shove her bodily into the carrier. She cried the entire way there but settled down a bit once we got inside. The nice lady vet checked her out, weighed her (8 lbs. 4 oz.), and then sighed. She mumbled something under her breath then explained to me she had one suspicion and a way to show me if it were true. LadyVet then turned out the lights, lit up a black light and bathed my poor cat in it's glow. She lit up like a green alien was trying to escape from the inside out! The doc then explained to me that my cat had a nice, festering case of RINGWORM! Having never dealt with this before, I freaked just a little. LadyVet explained it's a fungal thing and that animals who are immuno-suppressed typically get it and that it's HIGHLY contagious. I freaked a little more. Many questions were asked and answered and she assured me that if I hadn't broken out by now, I probably wasn't going to. She explained the symptoms on humans and animals alike and directed me on treatment. I paid 56 bucks and came away with all sorts of treatments for her.
I was so pissed off by the time I got home, I called the other vet and left a blistering yet polite message on his machine, to the effect that I have small children in my household and he was very aware of that, yet had not bothered to check the cat completely for this type of thing and was he aware of exactly how disturbing it is after paying nearly one hundred dollars to find out he'd biffed big time and we could have spread something to God only knows how many other people?? *growl*
I stripped down the boys and made sure they weren't showing any signs (they weren't) and then systematically dunked every furry beast in my house in the anti-fungal shampoo. Freya got antibiotics shoved down her throat and a special spray-coating all over her body and I haven't seen her since I let her loose. Chances are pretty good I'm going to have to hunt her down again in order to give her the meds again. She'll never be the same. She's going to be skittish as hell and so mistrusting, it's not funny. It's taken me this long just to get her as calm as I have.
LadyVet indicated if we'd caught this earlier, the treatment would have been a little less intensive--again, I'd like to shoot the other vet.
Fuckstick. You can't tell me that as a vet who's been practicing for God only knows how many years, he wasn't able to recognize this for what it is.
I've spent a good hour this morning disinfecting everything under the sun. My house smells like bleach and I've got a headache.
And in just a few hours my cousin's daughters are coming over for four hours. I get to have my Katie-noodle (aka Tater) and Baby Kameryn in my arms for HOURS. I'm thrilled. (and petrified, because my cat has RINGWORM and what if one of these darling little girls ends up with it??) I love babies and baby girls are a novelty in my house. Spoilage will commence.
***
I lightened my hair last night. I say lightened because that's about all it did. I was hesitant with an at-home kit to use too light of a color and ended up lightening it just a few shades. I think it even has a touch of strawberry blond to it, but I have yet to get another adult opinion. We'll see what Cousin says. I'm not horrified with it, which is a good thing. I don't feel the need to shave my head yet. Yet.
Happy Tuesday, one and all.
N.

8:34 a.m. - 2005-01-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged