nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Residual thanksgivings

There is an entry prior to this one that might explain a bit--read if you haven't. I am the Queen of Laundry. Since our power has come back on (sleep-time not counting), I don't think I've gone an hour without either putting in a new load, switching one over to the dryer or pulling a batch out to fold. At this rate, I might actually be caught up sometime midweek.
The boys were overjoyed to pop out of bed this morning and turn on cartoons. I heard them giggling like mad over one of their goofy favorites. And although I didn't think I'd ever hear the words come out of their mouths, they said they were TIRED OF POPTARTS! They requested "real food" for breakfast this morning.
The Hoover and I made up today and I lovingly let it suck away at my living room carpet. I apologized for all the mean things I've said in the past and it happily performed it's duties.
Ever watch that show where people have to live like the pioneers for awhile? Not me, thanks. I'm very firmly rooted in the here and now. Electric and I are accustomed to one another. And I don't think my kids could survive without their PS2. Hell, who am I kidding? I couldn't survive if they didn't have their PS2. Moms need breaks too.
The only thing still lacking is my poor fridge. It's open, empty mouth positively begs me to go grocery shopping. That's not going to happen until tomorrow sometime so keep your fingers crossed that the boys have school. Grocery shopping and kids just don't mix.
Some of the snow that's fallen in the last couple days has begun to melt. Thankfully, my dehumidifier in the basement is humming away as I type this. Otherwise I wouldn't be so happy about doing laundry!
The grass is soggy and mud is everywhere and the day is fairly warm. I think our high today is somewhere around the fifties and it's feeling distinctly Spring-like. I'm not sure what's going on with weather patterns lately but they're just plain weird.
This next week will be a little chaotic. Work schedules mixed in with a dental appt. for the boys and wrestling sign ups and other assorted business will make it a little busy. I'm looking forward to it.
I hope your Sunday is serene and filled with the sort of peace that renews you.
Happy Sunday, all.
N.

3:15 p.m. - 2005-01-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged