nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I think it's one of those deja vu things

I know someone who has eyes like a chameleon's skin, like built in camoflage. I can't ever see things for what they are in his eyes, can't tell what's truth or lies or humor or hate. I've always sort of thought that brown eyes were warm, like melted chocolate or my Gramps' beagle's wet eyes. His aren't. They're more like some shiny obsidian, doing nothing more than reflecting my own image back at me. They're unsettling and disturbing and I've never known anyone else I couldn't read. He has a knack for setting me off balance, for twisting things and making them seem like what they aren't.
There's something deeply frightening about someone who can make you distrust your own instincts.
***
My mother's boyfriend's son was hit by a car going 25 MPH last night. He was thrown 30 feet. Tonight he's resting at our local hospital, with a shoulder broken in two places, a leg shattered and something like 14 staples in his head. Because of the multiple broken areas, he's supposed to be completely off his feet for quite a while. The docs wanted him to stay with relatives but that's not going to happen. He's a convicted sexual predator and pedophile and we all have small kids. They're attempting to find a nursing home for him to rehab in but because of his record, that's proving difficult to accomplish. That's probably the lightest bunch of news I've dealt with this week. In an effort to avoid the doldrums that come with a hectic and worrisome few days, I'm stacking my weekend deck full.
Tomorrow I'm ridding myself of my king sized bed and downsizing to a queen. More room in the bedroom that way, with ample room still in the actual bed. Trevor has a rollerskating birthday party tomorrow and my little sister is going to be here through the weekend days as my mother is working, so my plan is to skate with the rest of the children while Trev enjoys his party. Sunday we're going to Arctic Blast in hopes of seeing some damned fine ice carving and I have to work on Sunday evening. I need to squeeze in typical housework and grocery shopping as well so that should keep me from dwelling on the negatives. Always a good thing.
***
The water around here is astronomical. So many roads have been closed because of flooding that it's difficult to get from Point A to Point B with any speed or predictability. All the dams are holding back immense amounts of water and it doesn't seem to be helping those living downstream any. Those upstream are dealing with flooding now, as well, and I'm thinking we're going to have one heck of a big old mess pretty soon. A trip to make my car payment today that normally takes a max of half an hour today took close to two hours, just trying to negotiate and backtrack via detours.
***
Just a random bit of trivia from my never-dull life: Can't Eat and Can't Poop informed me today that her hubby hasn't been able to get it up in over a year. I didn't really want to know something like that and unfortunately now every time I see the poor man, that's exactly what I'll be thinking. Why does this woman feel the need to share this sort of crap with me?? Bad enough to know she doesn't like to eat and doesn't like to poop, that she has an eating disorder that has her family members taste-testing her food for her, that she will literally dig her fingernails into her skin because she's having panic attacks. I didn't need to know about her husband's willie as well.
*insert sigh here*
I guess that's the most insane part o' my week, anyway.
***
I've had this song stuck in my head all day by PM Dawn, an older song that's just stuck on repeat.
"..Careless whisper from a careless man,
A neutron dance for a neutron fan;
Marionette strings are dangerous things,
I thought of all the trouble they bring."
In fact, I used to be a big PM Dawn fan and their songs echo sometimes, from places I haven't visited much lately.
Happy Friday. I'm damned glad this week is over.
N.

11:30 p.m. - 2005-01-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged