nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stuff

We got less snow than I expected we would. I'm not complaining, mind you. In fact, I'm rather relieved.
Much shoveling was done today. Even a space for the dog to do her business was shoveled out of the yard. I know that sounds ludicrous, but when you take into consideration the fact that Gracie is part terrier, part beagle, you understand that she was literally swimming in snow.
The boys got out in it, created walls of snow and forts and tossed hand grenades (aka snowballs) at each other and had an altogether wondrous time. They managed to wear themselves down a bit, which is always a good thing. No fear of wrestling moves TODAY!
Thank you for the two very supportive notes yesterday. I was wrangling with some fairly powerful shame and defeat. I'm better today, having shelved some and dealt with others. It's a process, I know.
***
I've mentioned in the past that with my mother's and father's families, I'm related to roughly half of our town here. Really. Mom has five brothers and sisters and my sperm donor has six. To further emphasize my point, let me tell you about an ironic happening today. While I was working, a nice lady stopped by to hand out a flyer she'd made to aid in her search for the family dogs. Her two pooches had escaped after baths and were roaming freely, completely unidentifiable. Being as they were family pets, the peoples that loved them wanted their furry buddies to return home, to be loved some more.
I called the number on the flyer tonight when I got off work, as I thought I'd seen the larger of the two in our surrounding area. After much conversation, the woman offered to give me her name and work number. Turns out, she's my father's first cousin, my second cousin, Doreen. I hadn't a clue as I hadn't seen her personally when she stopped by and rarely do I talk to my extended family by phone. When she said her name, I burst out laughing and said I knew her because I was a *insert father's last name here*. After telling her I was Bobby's daughter, she laughed too. Everyone, in referring to me in conversation in any way on that side of the family, calls me Our Nikki. Doreen hollered to someone in the background that she was talking to Our Nikki and thought I might have seen the pups.
Weird, I tell you. Ironic, too. How often do you accidentally talk to a cousin when trying to be helpful to a stranger?
***
Gracie's lying on the bed behind me, snoring louder than any human I've ever heard. I can hear the boys in the other room, playing some wrestling game J let them borrow, hooting at the screen and trash talking one another.
I'm going to go curl up on the couch behind them and finish my book.
Happy Saturday, Dlanders.
N.

9:03 p.m. - 2005-01-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged