nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chilly willy nilly

It was a pretty ho-hum day here in my world. The boys wrangled a bit over the PS2 and Ry had a short power trip over control of the remote but overall it was quiet. I worked for four hours, not much, all things considered.
And since I didn't have the brain cells to start my van up and let it defrost prior to climbing in to go home, I sat for about fifteen minutes, freezing my ass off in cave-like conditions. All the windows were covered with ice crystals and it was like sitting inside a frosted beer mug.
I've seriously been contemplating a move. I just don't see that Ohio's economy is going to have an upswing anytime soon and it's certainly not going to start in my little college town. Literally, there are hundreds of people without work here right now and it's not seeming to get better. I'm just not sure how much longer we'll be able to keep afloat here, if I can't find better work somewhere. I spent some time living in Pennsylvania as a kiddo and loved it there. That's always a possibility.
I have to say that I'm one of those strange individuals who needs four actual seasons. I like Ohio weather, like the rolling hills and green pastures and the woodsy areas as well as the swampy. Wherever (if ever) we move, it'll need to be somewhere similar geographically. Christmas isn't Christmas to me without snow and I always know it's Spring when the daffodils bloom.
***
It's cold tonight, the kind of cold that freezes the air in your lungs before you can even exhale and the kind of cold that makes you immediately have to pee. I'm chilled to the bone just from waiting for the van to defrost and randomly, goosebumps are rising on my skin. I'm tired and weary (yes, you can be both at once, in separate ways) and ready for a good, warm snuggle. Wrapped in the arms of someone who loves me, someone to share the good, the bad and the ugly with, someone to help me keep strong. Someone, for once, who doesn't perpetually smell of Cheetos or peanut butter or dog breath.
Happy weekend, all. Sleep well and deep and warmly.
N.

10:53 p.m. - 2005-01-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged