nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

One little, two little, three little Indians..

Just a little while ago, while I was dredging through the boys' backpacks, movement caught my attention and I glanced up to see two big, lovely does on our back hill. They stood there, so elegantly, halfway down the hill and almost in our backyard. Initially, the boys couldn't see them because they camouflage so nicely into the landscape but as soon as they moved, they stood out. They both calmly picked their way across the hill, nibbling here and nibbling there with such grace.
And in the blink of an eye something spooked them and they bolted, back up and over the hill.
To show you the difference in them? One of my sons commented on how pretty they were and the other said something to the effect that they'd make good hamburgers.
*sigh*
We watched bits and pieces of the Superbowl last night as well as the half time show. I might be a little off my rocker but it seems like the half time shows now-a-days are way shorter than the ones I remember as a kiddo. Football in my childhood home was sacred, not to be missed, and God forbid! you miss a Browns game! My parents would munchie-up and grab their beer and settle in for a nice round of yelling at the television and eventually each other and I'd head into the depths of my closet with a flashlight, my book and headphones. Half time shows always heralded a reprieve from the bickering, with bathroom breaks and the sounds of the fridge opening and closing. They just don't seem to last as long in today's time.
I've spent an inordinate amount of time playing a silly game on the PS2. Mind you, I don't play much game-wise, especially on the PS2. That's not my speed, but this game has warped me. And it's stupid. I loved The Sims on the PC but hated the PS2 game. I loved Rollercoaster Tycoon on the PC and I'm loving it on the PS2. It's damned addictive. Bad, bad, bad.
Once I've conquered the next park I should be done and over it and back to my normal routine. I think.
Today was gloriously warm. TheLyingWeathermen predicted rain all day and we didn't get a lick. In fact, it was nearly 50 degrees and a little overcast but still gorgeous. Spring can begin it's journey home any day now as far as I'm concerned. I'm ready for some Spring cleaning.
I was privy to an argument between Can't Eat and Can't Poop mom and dad yesternight. I'd called up there because Mom'd mentioned her hubby might be able to get me into another dept. where he works and instead of speaking to her, J answered the phone and I got the quaint experience of listening to caterwauling second-hand. Needless to say, I ended the call quickly and J hightailed it for quieter grounds (my house). His mother called here shortly after he arrived to make sure he was here and to apologize for the overheard fight and I just assured her that J was fine and it wasn't a big deal.
In light of the fact that Trev and J have been attached at the hip all stinking weekend, I actually was relieved to see the end of the weekend come. That, however, wasn't meant to be. Trev spent Friday night with J and then J spent Saturday night with Trev and then..Yeh. You get the picture. My only thought was that if I could give the kid a break from the Olympic-sized fight going on at his house, then I'd do it. I remember all too well those arguments and more from my own kidhood and it wasn't a bowl of Cheerios.
So--update. My weekend was filled with kids galore and some work as well. Lots done 'round the house. Lots of rollercoaster creation and a headache or two. I think that about covers it.
Happy Monday.
N.

4:45 p.m. - 2005-02-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged