nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sweets for the sweet

I'm boycotting cupcakes.
Today was the boys' Valentine's parties and I baked entirely too many cupcakes. Because my sons couldn't agree on just chocolate or just vanilla I made both. And then we had butter cream icing AND cherry, because pink AND white is better than just one or the other. In the process of my day-long baking campaign, I managed to reach into the oven and stick my knuckle against the rack and it stuck there! Needless to say, when I pulled away, profanity roiling out of my mouth, I had a dandy burn minus the protective blister.
The end result was worth it though. Yummy cupcakes and happy boys.
I spent this morning stuffing tiny plastic bags with a few pieces of candy and a pencil then tied them all shut with red twist ties, earning the beginnings of a blister on one of my thumbs.
Gotta love Valentine's Day. Poor Trev didn't get to go to his party as he stayed home today due to having a fever. Poor kiddo. He woke up and I noticed right away he was pale as all get out. My boys are pale anyway, but when they're sick, they're really pale. He stayed home and cuddled on the couch with me most of the day. I made sure Ry took Trev's treats, etc. in for him. No sense in them going to waste.
I was accused of "hogging Sundays". I requested every Sunday in March off, as well as the first entire weekend, due to family obligations and apparently, that didn't go over too well with someone. My manager asked if those days off were necessary and went on to comment that she was uncomfortable with any one person "hogging" a certain day off. I had to give that the inner eye-roll and sigh. You've got to be kidding me. I've worked all the hours no one else wants, haven't asked for an entire weekend off ONCE since I started, have come in at a moment's notice to cover for people..and you're going to give me shit about Sundays? Go figure.
I'm still not working them.
I took Gramps some cupcakes and he was very happy. Ryan comes by his sweet tooth honestly. My Gramps is the only other person in the world that I know of who lusts after sweets as much as Ry.
I think that about covers the newsworthy for the last couple days. Not much new.
Happy Friday everyone.
N.

8:58 p.m. - 2005-02-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged