nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The pinkeye crud and American Idol bonding

My oldest son is reading The Hobbit.
He completely chose it all on his own. I'm so very perked by this for a number of reasons. There's something that touches me, watching my sons pick books that I loved as a kid myself, with no prompting from me. There's a part of me that jumps with joy inside, watching them find their way through good books. I also wonder how they picture it in their heads, wonder if they picture things even remotely as I did. I'm tickled to see them discovering some of the same stories I did and knowing how wonderful they are, knowing how much they'll love them.
I tend to hold back on shoving anything under their noses as I don't want to push my own preferences on them. When they ask for help or recommendations, I'm more than glad to help, though.
I loved The Hobbit, probably more than I loved The Lord of the Ring series. I'm glad to see them finding it too.
***
The last two nights the boys and I have sat up watching American Idol together. I'm surprised, really, that they've been as into as they are. We've cuddled up in a mass huddle, curled around one another like puppies. It's probably the first real series we've ever done this with. They enjoyed parts of the Amazing Race with me but for the most part, have always run off for cartoons. It's nifty.
***
Ryan woke up this morning with one red eye. He stayed home because I knew the school would just send him home if I took him in. Sure enough, he's got pink eye and is out of school until Friday. Thankfully, he gets to go back Friday because that's school picture day and it's also Family Fun Night at the YMCA. Can't miss Family Fun Night. I get the great joy of volunteering as well, so while they ramble around, swimming and basketballing and getting their collective grooves on, I get to stand in the locker room making sure everyone gets their skivvies on without problems.
Ryan's eye drops are a different type of medicine than Trev's and seem to burn a little when I put them in. My kids aren't used to their eyes being messed with and I literally have to pry their eyelids back to put these drops in. Ryan screams and cries like I'm killing him, poor guy. Sometimes parental jobs don't feel so good. I'm tempted to use Trev's eye drops before using anymore of Ryan's.
***
We all seem to be doing better, cough/cold-wise. The cough medicine I've been taking knocks me out. It makes me woozy and giggly and out there. The antibiotic makes me sicker than a dog. I've begun taking it right before going to sleep, in order to sleep through the ickiness of it. The daytime one is a little more rough and I've found that eating a little bit here and there (rather than letting my tummy empty) keeps me from losing my cookies. It doesn't do a thing for the nausea though. Never taken Doxycycline so I'm not sure if this is normal or not. Just glad to be done with it soon.
I have to say that the cough is much better and the sniffles are going away rapidly. Good stuff.
Happy Wednesday, everyone.
N.

8:17 p.m. - 2005-02-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged